Enabling AHCI in Bootcamp in a 2010 Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Demigod Mac, Feb 18, 2011.

  1. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #1
    I've got a 2010 Mac Pro with an OWC Mercury Extreme SSD, Windows 7 Ultimate boot camp.

    Ran some benchmarks in AS SSD, and noticed the numbers aren't as high as I'd like, and also it seems to be running in legacy IDE mode, not AHCI. In Mac OS X the drives are all running in AHCI mode.

    Is there any method of fixing this that isn't too convoluted?
     
  2. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #3
    Is this because Apple never wrote the drivers or is it a Windows thing.
     
  3. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #4
    read thread linked above
     
  4. mh175 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    #5
    Which Intel drivers to take?

    Thank you for this. On the first try I was able to get both my Early 2009 and Mid 2010 Mac Pros using AHCI in Windows 7 on Bootcamp. The speed benefit is huge. And P.S. I haven't had a problem with Windows recognizing a SSD in the top optical bay.

    Check out what my drivers are listed as (on both Macs)

    Intel(R) ICH10 Family 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2- 3A2
    Intel(R) ICH10R Sata AHCI Controller
    Standard AHCI 1.0 Serial Controller
    Standard AHCI 1.0 Serial Controller

    Is this normal?

    Some background info:

    When I first chose to use Bootcamp, I made the decision to have a dedicated SSD for each operating system (rather than partition a single drive). Both SSDs are OWC Mercury Extreme 3G. So when I went to do the AHCI enable trick, I had two drives attached at the time. Is this the reason why my first driver says "ICH10 Family 2 port"?

    If I try to change the Standard AHCI driver to an Intel one, the drive stops working and I have to switch back to IDE-- but oddly the driver comes back to Standard AHCI 1.0 Serial ATA Controller.

    I really hope Apple fixes this soon.
     

Share This Page