Enabling HDR?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by TorontoLRT, Sep 10, 2010.

  1. TorontoLRT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Duh!
    #1
    I can't seem to find a button for HDR on my 4th gen touch. I'm sure this is just me being stupid, but how do I enable it?
     
  2. dhlee528 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    ipod touch doesn't suppoort HDR

    only iPhone 4 supports it
     
  3. TorontoLRT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Duh!
    #3
    WTF?!?! It has a camera, doesn't it!? Apple are *******s for excluding a feature that clearly could have been included!

    EDIT: I emailed SJ asking why they excluded it.
     
  4. Bleak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #4
    Don't bother, the reason is because the ipod Touches camera is 0.7MP, it's just too ******.
     
  5. TorontoLRT thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Duh!
    #5
    So? It's not like you need a certain number of pixels for HDR. I know very well it's not the world's best camera, but I want it to be as good as it can be!
     
  6. dhlee528 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    you could try jail break it

    jailbroken 3g/s supports HDR
     
  7. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #7
    And Apple doesn't. They need to keep enough feature differentiation between products. Way more profitale to sell phones.

    And HDR is awesome BTW. Eat your heart out. :D

    Here's a pic I took of my TV in the dark.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    Ok then. "I want HDR for my 3Gs. Why because it's camera."

    What a silly thing to want. I think it has to do with the camera's ability to capture three pictures in rapid timing. The iPod's camera and may not be able to do this. The camera in the 3Gs can but Apple isn't going allow it. Just like the 3Gs can take 720 HD video, but Apple won't let it.
     
  9. lewis82 macrumors 68000

    lewis82

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Totalitarian Republic of Northlandia
    #9
    The iPod touch has a 720P camera... it can definitely take three pictures in rapid succession. ;)
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    That may not be the minimum requirements for it. It could be the resolution, auto-focus, or CCD size.
     
  11. appleguy123 macrumors 603

    appleguy123

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    15 minutes in the future
    #11
    Maybe, it's an issue with how rapidly this advance formula can be implemented.
    It could require 512mb of ram to work in a timely matter?
     
  12. M-5 macrumors 65816

    M-5

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    #12
    You should look into the variety of HDR apps in the App Store. I haven't tried any, but I've read from some people here that they prefer the photos from their HDR app over Apple's HDR solution. They're probably not free apps, but if you want HDR that badly...
     
  13. skiltrip macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    Look for this feature on the iPod touch 5. Along with a better cam, And maybe 512 ram.
     

Share This Page