Enabling Inertial Scroll Setting

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by skywavesli, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. skywavesli macrumors regular

    skywavesli

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #1
    Hi, everyone

    I have a brand-new mid-2010 13" MacBook Pro and have been trying to enable inertial scroll with no luck.

    I heard that it should be under System Preferences, Trackpad, and then in a drop-down menu called "with/without momentum" next to Scroll. However, I cannot find any setting referencing momentum or inertial scrolling.

    Any thoughts?

    Thank you so much!
     
  2. tikidoc macrumors regular

    tikidoc

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    #2
    Yup, under the "two fingers" section in trackpad.
     
  3. crh3ff macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    #3
    here it is

    look next to scroll, under two-finger
     

    Attached Files:

  4. blazezaku macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    When i disable it, every time after i reboot it will enable again but in the menu it shows that it is disabled?:confused::confused::confused:
     
  5. NateDogX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #5
    Very strange that I don't see this option at all on my new MBP 13".
     
  6. Arrandale macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    #6
    Two things I can think of:

    1) You haven't updated your software, there was a specific software update for the new MacBook Pros a week ago.

    2) They've mistakenly shipped you a previous generation MBP. Check your model identifier in System Profiler to see that you have a MacBookPro6,x model and not a 5,x model.
     
  7. murdercitydevil macrumors 68000

    murdercitydevil

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Location:
    california
    #7
    I wish there was a way to edit the inertial settings. I kind of wish it kept scrolling a little longer after taking your fingers off.
     
  8. skywavesli thread starter macrumors regular

    skywavesli

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #8
    It's weird, the setting is not there.

    I also checked, and there's no updates available.

    In addition, I checked the model identifier and it says "MacBookPro7,1".

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  9. jpefjr macrumors regular

    jpefjr

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #9
    Any chance that you booted up with 64-bit kernel and the drivers for momentum scrolling isn't 64-bit?
     
  10. antmo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #10
    OP, did you maybe restore via a whole system restore, like carbon copy cloner or move your old disk into your new machine? a restore could have overwrote the pref pane/plist or something. just trying to throw out ideas...

    @blazezaku fyi, i have the same problem of having my scroll with momentum not stick after reboot too, even though i disabled it and it shows as disabled in the pref pane. i have to reselect it and it starts behaving.
     
  11. NateDogX macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #11
    I found what was wrong with mine earlier today. When I took my MBP 2010 into the Apple Store, they flashed it with a drive from an older model. Not only did my comp not have inertial scrolling, but it didn't know that it had a larger battery. Now, instead of getting around six hours from my battery, I get about 8 with some intense multitasking going on.
     
  12. peterpan4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    #12
    Is there a chance, that this could also be a solution for the weak battery time I see for my MacBook Pro 13" 2010.
    I just installed my old HD from my old MBP 13" (late 2009) into the new one and I get a bad battery time and I also do not see the scrolling option as aforementioned.

    What would be (if this is the case) the best way to immigrate to the new hardware without reinstalling everything?
    I can make a Timemachine backup, is it possible to immigrate everything from there, so I do not have to reinstall all the programs and make the settings?
    If timemachine does not provide this, which program do you recommend to use else?
     
  13. tinrocket macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #13
    Hi, I'm in the same boat. My system settings match, but I upgraded by SuperDuper!-ing the drive of my old machine. Hoping someone posts a solution... :\
     
  14. skywavesli thread starter macrumors regular

    skywavesli

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #14
    The issue was that I simply took the hard drive out of my previous gen MacBook Pro and put it into the new one.

    I simply installed a fresh copy of Snow Leopard from the DVD the new MacBook Pro came with, and that solved it.
     

Share This Page