Enabling USB on AppleTV 2.3.1

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by ayale99, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. ayale99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #1
    I mistakenly let my AppleTV update itself to 2.3.1 and lost my USB access. I've since re-installed ATV bootloader and gotten back all the goodies...except USB.

    I've done plenty of google searches and can't quite find what I'm looking for. It seems as though all the modification conversations went quiet around March.

    Has anyone re-enabled USB access after 2.3.1? If so, what is your solution?

    Thanks
     
  2. kadeschs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #2
    Some have told me that I must roll back to 2.3.0. Others say 2.3.1 has no issues. Not sure which is true.
     
  3. tom1971 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #3
    There is no probem ith the USB enabling on 2.3.1 - you don't need to roll back to 2.3
     
  4. ayale99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #4
    Care to elaborate on your solution? That's kinda what I was looking for.
     
  5. tom1971 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #5
    We offer a commercial solution - I did not want to do any advertisement here
     
  6. gaztov macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #6
    Okay, I've just done this again on 2.3.1. For years I've searched around the internet for a step by step guide to enabling usb and setting it as internal storage. Not sure if that is what you want but anyway....

    1) Run the free patchstick (http://code.google.com/p/atvusb-creator/)

    2) From software menu install NitoTV

    3) From NitoTV go to settings and install software, and then smart installer. No need to copy the files over, it will download them now, takes 20 mins or so.

    4) make sure the HDD is formatted.

    5) Restart the appletv and when the movie plays plug the HDD in.

    6) I'm doing this in windows but commands are the same in terminal;

    Open putty (terminal)

    sudo defaults write \

    then

    /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/autodiskmount \

    then

    Automountdiskswithoutuserlogin -bool true

    then

    sudo reboot

    this should automount USB at startup

    If you want the next bit to get it seen as internal storage let me know and I'll copy that out.

    Hope this helps.

    Gaztov
     
  7. ayale99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
  8. kadeschs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #8
    Yes please. :)
     
  9. kadeschs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #9
    Let me know how it goes. Thanks.
     
  10. ayale99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #10
    Works perfectly! Thanks Gastov.

    If I turn the AppleTV off or restart it, will I have to enter the Terminal commands again? Or is this change permanent?
     
  11. gaztov macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #11
    Nope thats it. It will automount from now on. If you want it to be recognised as internal space so you can sync to it from itunes....

    From the terminal...

    cp -R /mnt/Media/* /mnt/Scratch/Volumes/(NAME OF YOUR DRIVE)

    sudo mv /mnt/Media /mnt/Media.old

    sudo ln -s /mnt/Scratch/Volumes/(NAME OF YOUR DRIVE) /mnt/Media

    sudo chown -h frontrow:frontrow /mnt/Media

    sudo chown -R frontrow:frontrow /mnt/Scratch/Volumes/(NAME OF YOUR DRIVE)

    sudo reboot

    bear in mind you lose your 40gb space foritunes use, but I still copy stuff to it and use Nito to access the files. Glad it helped.
     
  12. raymoreno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    #12
    Gaztov - Problem at very end of instructions

    Thanks for these awesome instructions.I am having a problem with teh next to last step...

    I do want my external drive "WD500GB_2" it be recognized as internal space.

    When I type this command:

    sudo chown -R frontrow:frontrow /mnt/Scratch/Volumes/WD500GB_2

    I'm getting this error

    : Operation not permittedes//WD500GB_2/.HFS+ Private Directory Data

    Any thoughts????
     
  13. macsonny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    #13
    I get the exact same error and can't work out why. I've tried EVERYTHING I can think of.

    Did you work it out?

    Cheers

    Sonny
     
  14. raymoreno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    #14
    It worked anyway, despite error

    Macsonny -

    As best I can tell, that error seems to deal with only that particular file/ folder named ".HFS+ Private Directory Data". At one point, I just decided to ignore the error message and skip forward to "sudo reboot" Guess what - It worked! It seems to have set the automount correctly anyway. I can boot/reboot without problem.

    I now have exactly what I wanted - the default media file storage moved to an external 500GB drive. When I click "about" either in itunes or on the apple tv itself, it shows 460ish GB, and looks as if I've simply replaced the internal drive with a 500GB one. The best part is I repurposed an external USB drive at no cost. I'm using the default Apple TV interface and everything is nicely placed within "My movies," "My Music" etc....

    Thanks Gastov!

    Ray
     
  15. Jim82 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle
    #15
    Is that typed in on Terminal on my MAC or a terminal app on the appletv?
     
  16. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #16
    That's done from the terminal from your computer. I did it as a paragraph.. not doing it line by line..
     
  17. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #17
    Just a heads up for people having problems.. I tried this on TWO different atv's and i could get through all commands just fine but when i rebooted the atv would crash and not reboot properly. Turns out it was my usb enclosure was causing problems. I tested it out with a 4gb flash drive instead of the 500gig drive and it was fine. I just went to the store and bought a different hd enclosure and I'm syncing right now as we speak !
     
  18. keeneverett macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #18
    Im new to terminal and Just need some guidance.

    Okay, I've just done this again on 2.3.1. For years I've searched around the internet for a step by step guide to enabling usb and setting it as internal storage. Not sure if that is what you want but anyway....

    1) Run the free patchstick (http://code.google.com/p/atvusb-creator/) Done!

    2) From software menu install NitoTV Done!

    3) From NitoTV go to settings and install software, and then smart installer. No need to copy the files over, it will download them now, takes 20 mins or so. Done!

    4) make sure the HDD is formatted. WHAT FORMAT STEP BY STEP

    5) Restart the appletv and when the movie plays plug the HDD in. Should I be seeing something at this point

    6) I'm doing this in windows but commands are the same in terminal; Terminal on the computer, How does the computer affect the apple tv do i hook the hdd back up to the computer?

    Open putty (terminal)

    sudo defaults write \

    then

    /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/autodiskmount \

    then

    Automountdiskswithoutuserlogin -bool true

    then

    sudo reboot

    this should automount USB at startup

    If you want the next bit to get it seen as internal storage let me know and I'll copy that out.

    Hope this helps.

    Gaztov


    This gets me started and THANK YOU SO MUCH I just need some more help Like I said I am new to apple tv hack and terminal,
     
  19. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #19
    If you need more help let me know
     
  20. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #20
    Forgot to add.. you open up terminal on your mac and log into the appletv from it (SSH enabled when you hacked it) This way you can control the underbelly of the appletv.

    You keep the usb drive plugged into the atv. You are doing all the commands on your mac's terminal window but its controlling the atv from there.

    Does that make sense?
     
  21. keeneverett macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #21
    ssh open up

    how do i open up ssh in terminal, i used the commands you have listed and when i get to the pass word it doesn't let me type
     
  22. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #22
    you really need to look at the various wiki's out there but to get you started i'll help a tad

    type ssh frontrow@appletv.local into terminal

    it'll prompt you for password.. the password is frontrow (when you type it it wont show on the screen for security)

    just type frontrow and hit enter and i'll bet you get past it
     
  23. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #23
    forgot to add.. if you have more then 1 appletv on your network you gotta do ssh frontrow@IP ADDRESS OF ATV

    i learned this the hard way when I couldnt get on my atv with appletv.local
     
  24. keeneverett macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #24
    can you help me a little bit with the hdd I dont think its seeing it or im not looking on the right place
     
  25. CarlsonCustoms macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    #25
    You have already installed Nito and then from nitos settings menu you installed the "smart installer" and it did the "10.4.9 combo update" right?

    and you rebooted after that right?
     

Share This Page