enabling wireless n on MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rising j, Oct 30, 2008.

  1. rising j macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #1
    This might be a complete newbie question.

    I currently run a D-Link Wireless N Router, do I need to somehow enable wireless n on my MBP, or does the MBP automatically select the fastest method of connection, i.e. wireless n over a/b/g? :confused:

    Thanks.
     
  2. rychencop macrumors 65816

    rychencop

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    http://www.northaugusta.net/
    #2
    no..it's all set up. your router is the limiting factor as far as n goes. if you have any devices that use g it will use g over n. i had many issues when wanting to run n on my mbp and g,n on my router. confused yet?
     
  3. bigpants macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #3
    I too have a Dlink N router.

    If my missus has a G router, are you saying that the router will only run G because of her machine?

    Would an Apple based router fix this?
     
  4. rising j thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #4
    Ha!:p So what I can gather is, the router does not support utilization of a/b/g/n concurrently and that as soon as one g device is on the network, it automatically drops down to g for all other devices on the network?
     
  5. fuzzyuu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    #5
    Yes, it would only run at "G" speeds. No, the Apple router won't fix this. But one of the Linksys Dual Radio routers will... like this one... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124296
     
  6. rising j thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #6
    Do you mean if your missus computer only supports g? and not router?
     
  7. bigpants macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #7
    The router supports N downwards but not her laptop.
     
  8. rising j thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #8
    ahh...i never realized that these wireless n routers cannot run different bands simultaneously. This is something I would have just expected to be a feature. So I am assuming the only work around would be to manually turn off all the other bands, eh?
     
  9. r88my macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester UK
  10. rising j thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #10
    on the MBP or router? I wasn't too clear on my earlier post, but I was referring to manually turn off all other bands on the router....
     
  11. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    All routers do this.

    The only remedy is to a get a second router and do N-only.
     

Share This Page