encoding xvid w/ handbrake - how long?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sohaness, May 12, 2007.

  1. sohaness macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    hi folks,

    im encoding a dvd that i ripped with handbrake, and im wondering how long - on average - this is supposed to take?

    i've ripped the main feature w/ mac the ripper and it comes in at about 5 gigs.

    im then encoding it with handbrake / mediafork as an xvid with 128 mp3 audio for a target file size of 700 megs. outputting at a resolution of 640x480. its estimating 3 hours!!
    im running a mac pro xeon 3ghz w/ 4 gigs of ram.

    3 hours...is this normal???

    thanks!
    steve.
     
  2. contoursvt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #2
    Hmmm that sounds like a very long time to me but to be honest, when I tried encoding it was on a totally different platform and software but I recall it taking about an hour and a half on a P4 3.0 with hyperthreading on XP Pro encoding Divx (and not Xvid) at default settings with a resolution of 640x480. Also for software I was using something called DVDx.

     
  3. sohaness thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    it seems to only take this long when encoding from a VIDEO_TS directory on the hard drive.

    when i use handbrake to rip and encode off the dvd disc in one shot, it only takes about 30 minutes.

    odd...
     
  4. winchest macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    #4
    That is bizarre. Could it be that particular movie that was ripped as well or is it faster from DVD with that movie? I have had issues with some files more so than others with the current handbrake beta.
     
  5. nurfen macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    #5
    Just make sure not to read and write to the same drive. This is the reason it's going much faster when ripping on-the-fly.
     
  6. Trekkie macrumors 6502a

    Trekkie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    Wake Forest, NC
    #6
    Use h.264 instead! ;) Sorry I just hate having to search for something compatible with my Apple TV and only finding these other encoders out there.

    I keep hoping handbrake will enable Xgrid somehow. That'd be fun.
     

Share This Page