Endless Bootcamp issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mgmtm3, Dec 2, 2016.

  1. mgmtm3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    #1
    System: Mac Pro 5,1
    MacOS Sierra
    GTX 970 (no boot screens)

    I am guessing this has something to do with cloning my OSX drive so here it goes. My original working setup was a SSD with OSX and a 1TB disk with bootcamp (got this working after much struggle/education from this forum). I got new SSD that is faster so I decided to use carbon copy to switch my OSX from the old SSD to the new SSD. I rebooted and made sure it was now the primary drive. Then I formatted the old SSD and used it for bootcamp to speed up windows. Windows installed perfectly but now when I try to click the bootcamp software to go back to OSX it reboots, hangs for a bit, and then goes right back into windows with no restart. I cannot see any boot menus since I am using a non EFI card. I can get back into OSX if I reset NVRAM but then I have to change out my graphics card to an ATI 5870 mac edition which for some reason also does not display boot menus (display port to a 1440p 144hz monitor maybe??). Is there any wizards out there that can help me?

    Here is what I have tried so far. I have completely reformatted the old HDD back to OS X journaled, tried completely reformatting the SSD and reinstalling bootcamp. I also tried reinstalling the bootcamp software as admin in windows. Windows sees the OSX drive, and OSX sees the bootcamp drive. Still, just reboots to windows. Same issue every time.
     
  2. h9826790, Dec 2, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2016

    h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Hold "X" during boot should makes your Mac start from OSX partition.

    Anyway, did you open bootcamp, choose OSX partition, and then restart. OR simply choose boot back to OSX from the bootcamp tray icon?

    The 2nd method is not very reliable.
     
  3. mgmtm3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    #3
    Holding X does nothing, it goes back to windows. I have tried both ways of getting back to OSX.
     
  4. mgmtm3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    #4
    So I figured it out. Possibly the most odd thing ever. I literally switched the drive bays between the two SSD's and now everything works great. How did this happen?? I should be able to put a drive on any drive bay I want in the Mac Pro....so confused but ill take the win on this one.
     

Share This Page