Endless Reboot Cycle After JB

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by smtty00, Jan 8, 2011.

1. smtty00 macrumors newbie

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

I'm new to the whole Jailbreaking thing but have read up on it and it doesn't seem to be that complicated.

I've got an iPhone 4 running 4.2.1 and so I know that the only available (stable) option right now is to do a tethered JB.

I've tried twice now to do it but have had the same issue both times. I'm using the redsn0w method and have been able to do the initial JB without any issues. Upon going into Cydia the first time, I opt to download the updates it tells me are required and place them into my download queue. I then add a source for one of the cracked app stores and navigate to the one app I reall want and that I know is compatible with 4.2.1, LockInfo. I add that to the queue as well and then proceed to download everything. Once I'm given the option to 'Reboot' I do. After that though my phone essentially goes into an endless reboot cycle where I see the Apple logo for a few minutes, then it fades to black as if it's going to restart but just a few seconds later the Apple logo appears again. Both times I've ended up just restoring my phone.

Am I doing something wrong? Does it have something to do with adding the source for the cracked app store?

Any help would be appreciated. I'm anxious to join the JB world.

2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

QuarterSwede

Macrumors and it's members don't support people that use cracked apps. It's most likely the cause anyway.

3. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

PsstGreek

4.2.1 is a tethered jailbreak for the iPhone 4. After the iPhone reboots you need to redsnow to turn your iPhone back on in "tethered mode".

Seriously buy the app if you really want it.

4. smtty00 thread starter macrumors newbie