Energy-Efficient Crucial memory for MacPro ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by groundhog924, Jun 3, 2008.

  1. groundhog924 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #1
    I am looking to order memory upgrade kit for my new MACpro. (finally pulled the trigger today with free itouch option :p)

    Crucial vs OWC

    Crucial:
    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=5B2766DBA5CA7304

    OWC:
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/64FB2GD4GBK/

    My question is, if you look at the crucial site, there is a product details tab where it talks about energy-efficient memory 1.5v. Has anyone order this memory from crucial? Just wondering if they are 1.5v... The product spec does say 1.8v...

    OWC's memory shows 1.8v in the spec...

    I would love to get 1.5v if possible... any thoughts?
     
  2. Gonk42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    near Cambridge
    #2
    Crucial 1.5V FB-DRAM

    I wondered about this too, as a lot of PC workstations are able to use it but I think from reading the Crucial description that the Mac Pro won't use it and
    I also think it doesn't have the correct heat spreaders for the Mac Pro.

    Though if it is low energy it might not need the same amount of cooling.

    I'd be very interested to know if anyone has tried it.
     
  3. Lord Zedd macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #3
    If you want more energy efficient ram then install less RAM and use it more wisely.
     
  4. AndyClarke macrumors regular

    AndyClarke

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Location:
    Fernhurst, Hampshire
    #4
    Does it really make a great difference. Is this the voltage the memory runs at or is it the threshold? I mean does the Mac Pro only supply it with 1.5v in the first place?
     
  5. groundhog924 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    #5
    Andy,

    Does it really make a great difference ?

    I believe it does makes difference in noise level because if you have the rams running cooler, this leads to lower noise levels since the fans can run slower.

    Is this the voltage the memory runs at or is it the threshold? I mean does the Mac Pro only supply it with 1.5v in the first place?

    according to this
    http://lowendmac.com/macpro/mac-pro-2008.html

    Macpro,Harpertown CPU supports cooler running 1.5v memory...meaning typically the stock memory or whats on the market is 1.8v but it should also work at 1.5v. Thats how I understood.
     
  6. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #6
    Weird, if you go to the OWC site and choose the new Mac Pro from the main page and choose 800Mhz RAM for it Netlist does not show up?
     
  7. Gonk42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    near Cambridge
    #7
    Wrong specs for the latest Mac Pro anyway

    The energy efficient RAM is only PC2-5300 so it's not 800MHz. This
    along with the fact that it doesn't have a Mac specific heat sink
    means it is probably not an option.

    (Though I think Barefeats have experimented with running slower
    RAM in the new Mac Pros with ok results.)
     

Share This Page