engraving, yay or nay? other customization?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by mopppish, Mar 11, 2011.

1. mopppish macrumors 6502

Hi.
    So, I'm budgeting hardcore this month to be able to buy an ipad for myself and the girlfriend at the end of the month.
    It's going to be a surprise for her and, to be honest, a little bit of a sentimental thing.
    She's most likely going to Ireland in the fall to work on her master's in audio, while I'm staying here in WI. We've worked on multiple art projects together (I'm a musician and, although she's studying audio next year, she often does experimental video). I'm very interested in the creative possibilities on the ipad for our respective fields, and there's also the bonus of me being able to buy her first HD video camera (even though it won't be great on the ipad, I've always wanted to get something like that for her).
    Anyway, I was going to engrave each ipad with our nicknames for each other. I know, it's really sappy, but we're both going to have the exact same ipad and I don't know what kind of case she's going to get, so it's at least a way for us to easily tell them apart. And also, it will remind her of me while she's in Ireland. :D
    I'm sort of debating the engraving thing, mostly because of resale value. We've been together 4 years, so I'm not too worried about us breaking up and hating that out ipads still say "noodlearms" and "freckleface" respectively. However, due to our creative fields, we'll likely want to have at least close to the latest and greatest (maybe ipad 4's would be next for us), so I don't want to TOO greatly diminish the resale value of the devices.
    What do you think? Is there some other non-permanent, classy way (nice, customizable removable stickers?) that I could customize our ipads?
    Thanks!

2. jdminpdx macrumors 6502

lol

3. mopppish thread starter macrumors 6502

Wow, thanks... :rolleyes:
    I admitted it was sappy. Anyone have a sticker recommendation or something?