enough demand to give away old PPC macs vs trash?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by cdoublejj, Mar 9, 2018.

1. cdoublejj macrumors newbie

cdoublejj

So i've been letting a small stack of PPC mac minis and some G5s collect dust. was wondering if folks buy them on eBay i wonder if i could give them away for shipping $ vs having them ground up and recycled?

2. MysticCow macrumors 6502a

I'm a poor starving teacher and would LOVE a G4 mini and/or a G5.

3. pl1984 macrumors 68020

My recommendation is to put them on Craigslist for free. I can't think of a time when I wasn't able to at least give away old computers / computer parts. Someone might be willing to pay the cost of shipping a free Mini but the cost of packaging and shipping a G5 tends to make them local exchanges. As someone who had to ship a G5 just a few months ago it was a PITA...and that was using the same packaging it came in.

What are the configurations? If you have any later model G5's, especially the quad, you should be able to unload them for free fairly easily.

4. cdoublejj thread starter macrumors newbie

cdoublejj

I haven't seen the G5s yet but, are quads. the minis seem pretty small and not too heavy except only single cores

if serious PM me

5. Mac03ForLife macrumors regular

Mac03ForLife

Hi! I Would love a G4 mini for a pit computer. I am on a robotics team and we need a lightweight computer to serve as a server for our files while at competition.

6. wicknix macrumors 6502

wicknix

I'd gladly pay up to $75 USD for a working quad. I can't imagine shipping being more than $40, so the remaining $35 would be some extra beer money for you. Let me know. Thanks! Heck i'd even take a mini too. :)

7. cdoublejj thread starter macrumors newbie

cdoublejj

i know it's a similar size and weight to the dell T5500 which i shipped not long ago for right about 75. of ocurse your in the midwest which helps. send me a PM

8. cdoublejj thread starter macrumors newbie

cdoublejj