Enough storage?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lorrainetrias, Jul 12, 2014.

1. lorrainetrias macrumors newbie

I'm a uni student and will be buying a mac book pro.
    I'm limited on the budget so my first choice is the mac book pro 2013 retina display 4gb 128 flash storage

Will that be enough for me?
    Personally I don't collect photos or songs on iTunes. I'll only be doing uni work such as essays, power points, internet, and loooots of movies and entertainment

I've had a packard bell for 7 years and been hearing that mac is good so don't judge me and tell me to get windows instead ;P

2. wickoo macrumors member

Well if you want to keep it for said 7 years then no way the base model is going to be enough :)

3. simsaladimbamba

If you only stream entertainment, 128 GB is plenty. And you can always get an external 1 or 2 TB 2.5" HDD (does not need an extra power adapter) with USB 3.0 interface if 128 GB is not enough for storing your entertainment and maybe even for backup purposes.

4. lorrainetrias thread starter macrumors newbie

I probably won't keep my mac book for 7 years. Haha. might replace when I've got a steady job! finish uni in 2 years :)

----------

Yesss :) entertainment purposes
    and essays//PowerPoint that I probably won't save in my mac
    save it on my email.
    Thank you!

5. yjchua95 macrumors 604

Lots of movies and entertainment?

You'll be better off with the sweet spot configuration: the 2.4/8/256 configuration.

6. Martin81 macrumors regular

Martin81

I think 128GB is enough. And if not, there are lots of external storage solutions. With USB 3 even larger data files are exchanged quickly.

7. cambookpro macrumors 603

cambookpro

I wouldn't find 128GB enough, but then again I work on projects that create 40GB of temporary files. I know people who mainly use it for internet/word processing, and they get by just fine with 128GB (I know one person who even uses a 64GB MBA!)

8. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member