Enough with the Pre/Iphone battle they are targeting different submarkets

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by theshadow07039, Mar 17, 2009.

1. theshadow07039 macrumors member

Whats the one thing the Iphone has the ultimate alpha male status compared to all the other competitors INCLUDING palm pre. A well developed multimedia system. Look at what happened to the Blackberry storm, they tried to go head to head with the iphone with multimedia and many of their bugs are involved with their multimedia system. Palm Pre's motif is a synergy phone. Its a brilliant idea to have all info at the touch of your hand and I do wish iphone had it. But I have had a first gen Iphone for 1.5 years already and love it. Many people might boo me but I treat my iphone like a mini reference and synergy device. Dictionaries, cook books, classical novels, anything that can get my academic and social life organized (I am a student at a very prestigious university so anything to help me organize my stuff is great). When people ask today why didn't the iphone copy this I can think of many reasons. First of all the lock screen, for a business person or a very busy person you can imagine bubble box after bubble box covering the screen driving you insane. As we say today Apple is not afraid to tweak the UI to appease their consumers with new search capabilities. Palm and Apple are both marketing connection devices. They are phones, small computers, entertainment devices, they keep us connected to everything. Palm pre is a make or break device for Palm. They recruited directly from apple so yes the pre does have an iphone feel to it. But if we look at the OS systems Pre is trying to be a pure cloud device. The OS is totally based on the web, its "applications" are webapps which means if sprint does manage to have many buyers of the pre and is unable to keep their networks ability to handle the usage the pre will literally be dead. No ability to access anything renders the phone useless, remember t