Entry Level 15" MacBook Pro Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Geekazoid, Jun 25, 2015.

  1. Geekazoid Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I'm wanting to know, if under Windows, can Windows use and see the Intel Iris Pro Graphics iGPU? This may seem like a silly question, but I've heard on some YouTube video that Windows couldn't see iGPUs but only dGPUs, like the AMD M375X found in the higher end 15" MacBook Pro.

    Just to note, I have been a Windows user well before I started using Macs, so I know the OS pretty well, but I'm just not sure if the said problem is an issue for MacBook Pros running Windows.

    Thanks in advance for your help.

    Cheers,
    Geekazoid
     
  2. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #2
    Hi,

    I'm assuming BootCamp?

    I believe what you're thinking of is that Windows has trouble switching between the integrated GPU and the dedicated GPU in the higher end model, but I could be wrong.

    In any case, it should recognize the Iris Pro just fine - just make sure you have updated drivers.
     
  3. puelocesar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    #3
    As I see it, Windows can't use the Iris Pro if you have the AMD card, but in the base model, as there's only the intel card, it's what it will see.

    If it didn't recognized the Iris Pro, you wound't see nothing on the screen :p
     
  4. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #4
    On models without the dGPU, Windows will utilize the iGPU.
     
  5. soupcan macrumors 6502a

    soupcan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    Windows will always use the dGPU if the Mac has one. If it's only equipped with the Iris iGPU it will use that.
     
  6. Geekazoid, Jun 28, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2015

    Geekazoid thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #6
    Thanks guys for your help. The reason that I've asked is because I'm thinking about purchasing the entry-level 15" retina MacBook Pro at some point because I just think that the high-end 15" MacBook Pro @ AU$3,500 is just a tad too much, whereas the entry level @ AU$700 less (AU$2,800) is much more easier for me to justify the cost of. So, your help is greatly appreciated because now it confirms that I shouldn't have a problem with dual booting OS X and Windows via Bootcamp. Thanks!

    Edit: Accidently missed out the word "booting". LOL
     
  7. puelocesar macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    #7
    Well, I bought the base model last week, and I'm liking it. Sure it can't run some games and has less storage, but that wasn't enough for me to justify spending so much money on a laptop
     
  8. Geekazoid thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #8
    Well, what sort of things do you do on it, video editing?
     
  9. SHEEPOS macrumors member

    SHEEPOS

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #9
    Windows has trouble switching between the integrated GPU and the dedicated GPU under bootcamp
     
  10. Geekazoid thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #10
    What about if you just have the iGPU, like the Intel Iris Pro Graphics?
     
  11. SHEEPOS macrumors member

    SHEEPOS

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #11
    I't will run normally.

    the problem with apple is that they don't give a sh*t about windows drivers even acer has much better drivers !
     
  12. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #12
    Not just trouble, but it's completely unable to do so.

    Apple uses a custom implementation of UEFI 2.0, whereby if a dGPU is present and booting into Windows, the iGPU is disabled. And there's no way to get around that unless you can rewrite the UEFI and flash it.
     
  13. Geekazoid thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #13
    I see, hmm...
     
  14. SHEEPOS macrumors member

    SHEEPOS

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #14
    for some reason my base model late 2013 15"macbook pro runs much better than my sister's retina 2012 15" macbook pro with 650m under bootcamp !
     
  15. Geekazoid thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #15
    Well, that is interesting. I wonder why that is.
     
  16. SHEEPOS macrumors member

    SHEEPOS

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #16
    Bootcamp wasn't stable enough for me so I completely removed the bootcamp partition but my sister runs windows primarily on her Macbook and she seems to be liking the experience with windows under bootcamp
     
  17. Geekazoid thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #17
    Well that kinda sucks for you, but it's interesting to learn that your sister primarily uses Windows on her MacBook Pro? So, she never uses OS X?
     
  18. SHEEPOS macrumors member

    SHEEPOS

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #18
    NO,I guess she is a windows fangirl lol
     
  19. Geekazoid thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #19
    Well, Windows is pretty darn good. What version of Windows, may I ask?
     
  20. SHEEPOS macrumors member

    SHEEPOS

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    #20
    Windows 8.1
     
  21. Geekazoid thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #21
    Ah, good OS that. :)
     

Share This Page