Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Macky-Mac

macrumors 68040
Original poster
May 18, 2004
I'm considering upgrading my wide format ink jet printer. I've been using an Epson Stylus Photo 1270 for almost 7 years and it's been really good for what I need (which isn't really for printing photos).....but now a friend wants to print a bunch of 11 x 14 photos and so I'm thinking I might make a deal with him and take the opportunity to upgrade to one of Epson's current models.

There's the Stylus Photo 1400, the R1800 and the R2400 to choose from. I see that they have different ink configurations and that the R2400 seems to have the same ink set that Epson's bigger printers use. Printing speed isn't that big an issue.

Any recommendations, advice and opinions would be helpful in making a decision as to which to buy......it's really a matter of what would be best for printing his photos so what do you think?

btw; my friend's photos are color as opposed to B&W, and the color tends to be soft, muted and subtle as opposed to bright and vivid

BanjoBanker

macrumors 6502
Aug 10, 2006
Mt Brook, AL
R1800

I have had an R1800 for a little over two years and I love it. The colors are great and the speed is reasonable for the sizes I print. My wife prints 11x17 scrapbook pages that she has laid out in Quark and they look great! I print mostly 8x10 photos and everyone tells me they are great. I highly recommend the R1800. I am not sure if the 2400 is worth the extra money, but I have not used one so I can not say for sure.

ethernet76

macrumors 6502a
Jul 15, 2003