Epson Workforce DS-560 not recognized natively via wifi

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by fhall1, Mar 1, 2015.

  1. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #1
    Just purchased the subject scanner to help make my life as paperless as possible.

    I want to connect to it via wifi (instead of USB - you can't use both simultaneously), so my wife can also access it with her PC - as well as allowing our iOS devices to use it too.

    I have it connected to my Mac via wifi using the Epson software, but the Mac (running 10.9.5) won't see it "natively" - meaning all I can use is the included Epson software - which is pretty rudimentary. I can't use DevonThink or Paperless or even Vuescan (or Image Capture) to see the scanner.

    When I try to add it via System Prefs/Printers and Scanners using the IP address, the pulldown box, Epson section, doesn't list drivers for the Workforce DS-560....even though Apple says it's a supported model on their support site.

    Do you think it'd work if I switch the scanner to be connected via USB, load the drivers that way, then disconnect the USB and go back to wireless? Would the drivers "stick"?

    Any advice is appreciated.
     
  2. fhall1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #2
    Just tested out connecting via USB. Mac recognizes it right away and I can scan from third party apps. However, as soon as I tell the scanner to use wifi, it disappears from the Mac and I'm not able to re-add it manually because it can't find drivers for that model - even though I know they're on the machine somewhere.

    Back to using the Epson software....
     
  3. durhamj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #3
    Since I don't see this thread being piled on , I must assume this problem was solved. What was the answer? How do you get the Mac to recognize the 560 across Wi-Fi.
     
  4. fhall1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #4
    Not solved...I contacted Epson, there is no way to "add the printer" wirelessly to the Mac besides using the Epson software. If I want to run third party software I have to connect it via USB.
     
  5. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #5
    I have learned over the years if a printer is wireless or gets an IP on your Network then just put that printer IP in your browser and the printer functions will come up in the browser to configure it more!
     
  6. Donfor39 macrumors 6502a

    Donfor39

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Location:
    Lanarkshire Scotland
    #6
    google search Guitenprint.
     
  7. durhamj macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #7
    SUCCESS! Some what. 1st - Manually connected the scanner to my network via its AP mode... Then switched it to WiFi and retrieved its IP address from my router. Pinged it and it does respond. Then logged in as administrator and reinstalled the Epson software, pinged the scanner, still there. In System Preferences > FireWall added and set all the Epson software related to the the scanner to "Allow incoming connections". I can now scan from Document Capture v1.3.3, and Epson Scan v5.3.2.0 ; but not Image Capture v6.6. Image Capture does see my USB connected flatbed scanner but not the WiFi connected DS-560. Everything seems to work but every once in a while the Epson products still ask if I want to allow incoming connections; I answer "Allow". I am running Yosem v10.10.5
     
  8. fhall1 thread starter macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #8
    Remember - this is a duplex sheet-fed scanner, NOT a printer. Gutenprint nor going to its IP address in a browser does anything.
     

Share This Page