Equipment needed for freelance editor

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by filmkid, Mar 7, 2012.

1. filmkid macrumors newbie

Hi all, I'm a freelance editor and will be moving to NYC to do a lot more contract work. I need a reliable home set-up and need help with equipment to make this happen. I'm on a bit of a budget but am highly aware this stuff is an investment as it contributes to my livelihood. I'm thinking around $5k and am open to selling what I already have to put towards the stuff that makes more sense for my needs. Ok, details:

What I have

• iMac 21.5'' 1TB, 2010 (not with it right now, can't give more info)
    • Apple Cinema Display HD 23''
    • G-Drive 1TB + a few other less than stellar portable drives
    • Canon T3i + a stupid little Canon DV camera
    • Adobe Production Premium CS5.5
    • FCP6 + Studio, will soon be getting FCPX

What I do

• If I'm shooting myself, it's always on the T3i
    • Mostly videos for web or DVD, sometimes shorts and docs for festivals
    • Footage comes from HDV tapes, DSLR cards, P2 cards, clients' portable drives
    • Interviews/profiles, low-budget music videos and shorts, light motion graphics, sizzle reels
    • While I have offlined a short shot on RED (and hope to do more), I generally stay at 1920x1080 and below, anything requiring heavier duty work (higher res online, color, mixing, etc.) I'd likely go to a professional post house.
    What I need

• Decent speakers - I still don't have any! Nothing fancy, just something that will give me a better idea than the computer speakers.
    • I don't do serious audio anything, just basics... do I still need a mixer?
    • MAYBE a tape deck. I know those things are expensive and from my experience wouldn't get used too much. What camera might you suggest for digitizing HDV?
    • Thinking of trading in my iMac for a Mac Pro. What kind?