"Erase All Content and Settings" does not erase all content and settings

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by sunsetblow, Aug 19, 2015.

  1. sunsetblow macrumors regular

    sunsetblow

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #1
    So I did a hard reset of my phone and gave it to my friend. She setup the phone using her iCloud ID but apparently the Passbook repopulated using my information.

    How is this a thing?!

    I just spoke to an Apple rep and they said that the "Erase All Content and Settings" function only wipes my content, NOT my account settings. This is news to me. So apparently I have to sign out of iCloud (rather than simply turning of Find My iPhone) AND sign out of iTunes & App Store before doing a hard reset.

    This is absolutely ludicrous and I've never had this happen before in any phones that I've reset and given to others.

    Can someone shed some light on this? I don't think the rep knows what they're talking about.
     
  2. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
  3. sunsetblow thread starter macrumors regular

    sunsetblow

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    #3
    That's what I'm saying. Can't believe the "Genius" could be so ill-informed...
     
  4. CTHarrryH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #4
    I think this is a security feature. It is easy for someone to steal a phone and do a erase all but if they haven't signed out of iCloud etc. you can't actually take control of phone. So somewhere along the line you have to be the owner with the actual iCloud password to really wipe the phone and take control
     
  5. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    There's certainly Activation Lock which can be disabled when Find My iPhone is disabled before erasing. But when that is disabled, as mentioned by the OP, no information should remain on the phone. Even if it's not disabled, no information should remain, just a prompt to verify the iCloud account, but that should be it.
     

Share This Page