"Erase All Content And Settings" doesn't update firmware, does it?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by easy-peasy, Feb 6, 2014.

  1. easy-peasy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    #1
    If I'm on old firmware and my settings app shows a "1" badge (because my phone has downloaded the new firmware and is waiting for me to install it), does doing a reset with "Erase All Content And Settings" on the iPhone itself update the firmware? Or does it simply reset the phone and keep it on its old existing firmware?
     
  2. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #2
    Hitting "Erase All Content And Settings" will delete everything and keep the same firmware, yes. If your iPhone is jailbroken it won't finish and just hang up on the erasing.
     
  3. easy-peasy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    #3
    Thank you for the quick reply and knowledge :)

    I am purposely avoiding jailbreaking my phone so that when it comes time to sell it I don't have to restore via iTunes (I can simply "Erase All Content And Settings") and can keep the phone on old firmware for better resale value.
     
  4. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #4
    what you are saying is all true
     
  5. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #5
    No problem.
     
  6. easy-peasy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    #6
    Such a nice and helpful community here. I love it :)

    Thanks you both for taking the time to answer my question.
     
  7. JackieInCo macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    Back in December, I sold a 4S on 6.1.3 for $300. The guy was taking it to India to use there. It didn't seem to make all that much difference that it was on 6.1.3, people just wanted an unlocked phone.
     
  8. bblinde macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    #8
    Yeah, only restore to the shipped iOS. If you want to upgrade, you have to do it manually.
     

Share This Page