Erase All Content and Settings inconsistencies

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by RichardF, Apr 18, 2017.

  1. RichardF, Apr 18, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2017

    RichardF macrumors 6502a

    RichardF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    Over the last couple of years, through several versions of iOS, I have had very mixed results with this wipe out function.
    I have been reporting this to Apple via the Feedback page and also directly via Tech Support cases which were escalated more than once.

    I would use it if I needed to sell and hand down a device to someone.

    What I am finding is that Erase All Content and Settings

    1) turn off Find My ... automatically
    2) wipes the device contents and back to factory settings
    3) removes it from https://www.icloud.com
    but
    4) fails to remove it from https://appleid.apple.com

    After my initial reports, Apple added the option to remove the device manually from either page.
    This option is of course useful for other scenarios other than mine and it is a welcome addition.

    But it should work automatically when using the Erase All Content and Settings function.


    I have tried many many variations and sequence permutations of the following.

    a) sign out of iTunes Store manually
    b) sign out of Messages
    c) sign out of FaceTime
    d) sign out of Apple ID
    e) Erase All Content and Settings


    Does anyone know what might be causing https://appleid.apple.com to show the device as still signed in and to refuse to delete it automatically?
    Besides iTunes, Messages, FaceTime and Apple ID what else uses the Apple ID on a MacOS or iOS device?

    Perhaps nothing.
    I think something is broken in the way things happen in the background when the device link to https://www.icloud.com and https://appleid.apple.com is being severed by this process.
     
  2. Corgirat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    #2
    Wow, I always thought I get logged out of Apple ID automatically. But how do you know your now erased devise is logged in? Did you go to settings after wiping it?
     
  3. RichardF thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RichardF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #3
    I always check by logging into https://www.icloud.com and https://appleid.apple.com if the device I just wiped is gone from the listed devices.

    If it isn't I then check a day later, a week later etc.
    And unfortunately waiting for it to drop off doesn't work either.
     
  4. Mlrollin91 macrumors G5

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #4
    I think it's because it's a trusted device. And until you manually remove it, it remains a trusted device. The serial number is tied to your account.
     
  5. RichardF, Apr 18, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2017

    RichardF thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RichardF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #5
    Edit: I have had times when they came off automatically.
    My issue is that it doesn't happen every single time as it should.

    Also it happened to me with Apple Watches.

    Could we define Trusted Devices?
    Manage Apple ID has trusted numbers but a trusted device is really just a device an Apple ID.

    Are you thinking of how Apple rolled the Apple Support Profile page into Manage My Apple ID page maybe?
     
  6. Mlrollin91 macrumors G5

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #6
    A combination of the above. The trusted devices is any device that you have used with your Apple ID and if you have 2FA or 2SV turned on, one of these "trusted" devices will receive the 6 or 4 digit code respectively. Then add the addition of Apple combining the support page with the AppleID website. It has all essentially been tied together and to me makes sense that upon signing out the device is still listed because it has been a trusted device in the past and the serial number is tied to your AppleID.
     
  7. Banglazed macrumors 65816

    Banglazed

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #7
    Normally, you're suppose to sign out of iCloud first which remove the phone from Find My iPhone. Then, you do "Erase all settings and content".
     

Share This Page