Erase All Content and Settings = Restore as new?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by wannabelean, Mar 9, 2014.

  1. wannabelean macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #1
    Other than the fact that restore installs the latest version of iOS is there any difference in regard to deleting and erasing the content and settings?
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Yes, on a phone that is not jailbroken, hitting that toggle just removes all the custom content you have added to your phone (settings, apps, music, the like). This cannot replace any corrupted firmware files (if you would have any)

    Restore, set up as new, don't restore to backup gives a pristine clean install of the firmware.
     

Share This Page