Erase all content and settings

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Jrtesq, Oct 23, 2014.

  1. Jrtesq macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #1
    While trying to erase all contents and settings, the phone powered down due to low battery. Did it actually erase everything? When I plugged it in and turned it on, I got the Hello screen, followed by choice of language. I didn't want to activate the phone just to check since I already activated my new phone.

    I am sending the phone to the carrier as part of the buyback program, so it has to be erased.

    Don't know if it matters, but it looked like it was still picking up signal from the carrier.

    Any insight will be appreciated
     
  2. NoBoMac, Oct 23, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2014

    NoBoMac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    #2
    Probably safe.

    Unless you have an original or 3G iPhone, wipe/reset doesn't actually wipe anything. The encryption keys for the device get erased, so, data still on flash memory, but unreadable/undecypherable.

    If you still have the SIM card for the device, if you want to be safe, "reinstall" OS: I did that to verify my device got provider unlocked and did not have any affect to my "live" phone.
     
  3. BrettDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando
    #3
    Personally I'd suggest wiping again just to be sure. It doesn't hurt to activate the phone again and it's pretty quick to go through. Tell it that you want to set it up as a new phone (not restore from backup) and skip the option to put in your apple ID... that way it won't get tied back to your account or anything. Then once you're back in, just tell it to erase all content and settings again. Shouldn't take more than a couple of minutes and is probably worth it just to be sure.
     
  4. Jrtesq thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #4
    Thanks y'all. Just found out my wife already dropped it off at FedEx. Guess I'm going to start changing all my passwords just in case.
     
  5. gumbyjunior1 macrumors regular

    gumbyjunior1

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Location:
    'Merica
    #5
    Keep clicking refresh on the find my iPhone app
     
  6. Jrtesq thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    #6
    In Find My Phone it only shows me my new phone and my Mac mini. Doesn't show the old phone.

    But that makes me remember that I got an email right after the erase saying that find my phone had been turned off. Of course, I didn't manually turn it off, and it was in my possession at the time. Is that an indicator that the erase worked?
     
  7. BrettDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando
    #7
    It turns off find my iphone before it lets you wipe the phone. If find my iphone is enabled then it will ask for your icloud password after you tell it to wipe all contents and settings, and will turn off find my iphone before it does the wipe.
     

Share This Page