Erase all content and settings

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AppleFan22, May 17, 2016.

  1. AppleFan22 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #1
    As part of a cleaning process for my iPhone 6, I like to do an Erase all content and settings reset, and start from scratch from time to time. However, since I activated this phone for the first time, I've switched carriers (and therefore SIM cards) twice, (from EE, to giffgaff, to Three). I've done a full reset on my iPhone 4 (activated on the same SIM, the EE one) and tried to activate it with the giffgaff one, and it didn't work. I'm assuming the same thing will happen with the iPhone 6? I'm running iOS 9.3.2, and everything else is up to date. If the same thing would happen, what can I do to make it activate on the Three SIM? Would I have to take it to EE and get them to unlock it? (I've tried jail breaking before, it's never worked for me )-: )
     
  2. Applejuiced, May 17, 2016
    Last edited: May 17, 2016

    Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Erase all content has nothing to do with unlocking an iPhone.
    If the phone is locked to a specific carrier it will not work with any other sim. You will have to contact the carrier to unlock it.
    If the phone is unlocked it will activate with any GSM sim you put in.
     
  3. Chatter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Location:
    Uphill from Downtown
    #3
    The gentleman above is spot on. If you have a locked phone, erasing the phone or jailbreaking it will not remove the lock status.
     
  4. AppleFan22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #4
    This is very good news haha! Any ideas why it didn't work on the iPhone 4 then?
     
  5. Applejuiced, May 18, 2016
    Last edited: May 18, 2016

    Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Not sure.
    If the particular i4 would not accept or activate with another carriers GSM sim then that phone might be locked to a specific provider.
     
  6. AppleFan22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #6
    I should probably mention that both phones were bought unlocked... if that makes any difference...
     
  7. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #7
    Are you sure they are unlocked?
     
  8. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    If a phone is really unlocked it will work and activate with any sim.
    If it doesn't then there might be other issues or the particular iPhone is locked.
     
  10. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #10

    Have to say, I really don't understand why you do this.
     
  11. AppleFan22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #11
    Yes, neither of them were bought with contracts
    --- Post Merged, May 18, 2016 ---
    Is there anything I'd be able to do about that?
    --- Post Merged, May 18, 2016 ---
    I hope you're right, as I'm outside of my free warranty period now!!
    --- Post Merged, May 18, 2016 ---
    Just because I find it helps the iPhone run faster, and gives it a new look
     
  12. lugworm macrumors 6502

    lugworm

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Where did you buy your phones from ? Iphones from places like carphone warehouse claim to be sim free, but will lock to the first sim put in them.
     
  13. RedOrchestra Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    #13
    You mean like a 4 morphs into a 6s Plus new look
     
  14. AppleFan22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #14
    This could make sense... the iPhone 4 was a brand new/hand-me-down/pay some of the money for it kind of gift, so I have no idea where it came from. However, the iPhone 6 was bought directly from Apple
    --- Post Merged, May 19, 2016 ---
    -_- No, I mean on screen-wise.
     
  15. AppleFan22 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    #15
    If anyone cares, I did the erase today (technically I used restore in iTunes but ¯\_(ツ)_/¯) and it's worked perfectly; reinstalling data now. Thanks for the help everyone!
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    Erase all content on the phone and a full itunes iphone restore are very different.
    A full itunes restore is a better way to restore the current iOS and get rid of any software bugs or issues you might be experiencing.
     

Share This Page