Erase Data and settings... Help!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by ^^ CoolMacLover, May 8, 2010.

  1. ^^ CoolMacLover macrumors regular

    ^^ CoolMacLover

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    On A Apple
    #1
    So i wanted to get rid of my jailbreak, my phone would crash all the time most of my apps, so i got it to erase all the data and settings, but its taking forever... Should it take so long?

    After i clicked it, it restarted, then the apple icon came up and a loading bar. About 2 of them pass, then the little loading spiral thingy came up... and it goes round, then stops, then goes some more, stops. Then it restarts and does it again...

    What have i done wrong?!?! D:
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    To get rid of your jailbreak, all you had to do was restore the phone. It's not a good idea to erase. The process takes several hours, and you may not be able to gee the phone working again after.

    At any rate, try a DFU restore, when it's over (see my sig).
     
  3. ^^ CoolMacLover thread starter macrumors regular

    ^^ CoolMacLover

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    On A Apple
    #3
    *somewhat happy sigh*

    Thanks. DARN YOU APPLE, giveing us options to do stuff but might harm the phone... darn you...:( Ill try the DFU. Thanks
     
  4. ^^ CoolMacLover thread starter macrumors regular

    ^^ CoolMacLover

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    On A Apple
    #4
    Does it matter that my internet is so slow ATM that during the download *during DFU mode* it goes back to the apple icon with the little spinning thing instead of the Connect to iTunes icons?
     
  5. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #5
    Sounds like you're not in DFU mode. The internet has nothing to do with that.
     
  6. pixelated macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #6
    Its only a problem for jail broken phones in every case I've seen. Its a good example of how important researching a jailbreak is, and what you should avoid
    EDIT: if your having trouble getting into DFU mode you can always try a 'restore mode' restore.., its a lot easier to get into restore mode.
     
  7. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #7
    I think you mean "recovery mode."
     
  8. ^^ CoolMacLover thread starter macrumors regular

    ^^ CoolMacLover

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    On A Apple
    #8
    Well following the little tut from ur link in ur sig it tells me i have to update it. So thus it connects to the internets to get 3. what ever it is.

    [​IMG]

    That comes up, i click OK. Then restore. Then it connects to get the update.


    EDIT: As i type, it is doing something xD Once the updates had downloaded i needed to click it again to install... *crosses fingers*

    EDIT #2: Well its working now... =D NEVER AGAIN :p Thank you -aggie- and pixelated for your help.
     
  9. pixelated macrumors 6502a

    pixelated

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #9
    I do indeed . For some reason I did not gave access to that word last night . :rolleyes:

    glad to hear it's sorted CoolMac
     

Share This Page