iPhone Erased my 4.1.1 Jailbreak and Unlock!! :(

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by 1Sail0r, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. 1Sail0r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I really need help right now because I made a big mistake. 10 months ago I bought a jailbroken and unlocked iphone 3gs and used T-Mobile on it. However, today I was going to give my phone to another person so I decided to delet all the data that was on it. Unknowingly, I went to "Erase all Contents and Settings" in the settings and now my phone starts up with the Apple Logo. Tried a hard reset and it doesn't work. And when I put it into DFU mode and go into iTunes it wants me to restore to iOS 6.1...what do I do???

    Not really smart with all this jailbreaking stuff so if someone could kindly explain the steps I'd be so grateful.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Download the 4.1 IPSW, use iTunes to navigate to it to reinstall it.
    Then re-jailbreak it.
     
  3. 1Sail0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #3
    Thank you! Can you please elaborate on the navigating part with iTunes?
     
  4. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #4
    With iTunes use restore key plus shift key to select the IPSW.
     
  5. 1Sail0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #5
    So I just navigate, choose it, then follow steps online to jailbreak and install cydia to unlock?

    Also, it was on an iPAd baseband of 6.15.00 does that mean the baseband was lost as well? :\

    ----------

    Do you have a good guide to follow to jailbreak? Something simple to follow. Thanks
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    That changes everything.
    You will have to make a No BB IPSW using Redsn0w

    iClarified.com has tutorials that might assist you.
    You will have to go way back to find 3GS tutorials for 4.1 firmware.
     
  7. 1Sail0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #7
    I am so confused. Can you please point me towards the tutorials if you have the time
    ?
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    It is too easy to find the tutorials section - perhaps you didn't try :confused:
    If finding them is too difficult, executing them will likely not go well.

    http://www.iclarified.com/tutorials/
     
  9. 1Sail0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #9
    I know that. I was just asking for the specific tutorial you had in mind.

    One thing. When using redsn0w to create a custom ISPW it says:

    "Sorry, only firmware 4.3.3 and 5.0+ are supported for iPhone 3GS right now"

    Does that mean I should upgrade to 4.3.3, even though the phone initially had 4.1? Will that be a problem?

    Thanks.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Did you try using a stock firmware and got an error restoring?
    You will need to use redsnow to flash the ipad baseband again.
    Then use redsnow again to downgrade the ipad baseband. Then you can restore to any stock firmware you want.
    Then buy an IMEI unlock for $2 assuming its an AT&T locked iphone and you're good. It will be unlocked for good and will work with any GSM carrier in the world.
     
  11. 1Sail0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #11
    Yes, used the stock firmware and got error 1015. Now the iPhone is in recovery mode with the connect to iTunes logo.

    Any thoughts on what to do next?

    ----------

    I don't need a permanent unlock solution :) I just want to go back to what it was please.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Ok, then you still need to use redsnow to flash the ipad baseband first.
    Cause now its in inconsistent state cause you tried to restore to stock firmware while having the ipad bb.
    So flash the ipad baseband and when done open up redsnow and select downgrade baseband.
    Then you will be able to restore it to the latest ios version using iTunes.
    Good luck.
     
  13. 1Sail0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #13
    Thank you I will try that now. And then I have to change the baseband back to the iPad one to unlock it?

    By the way. While I was waiting I looked up how to get past error 1015 and used iReb to get past it. Now I'm on a slide to unlock screen with the connect to iTunes logo still showing. Should I still follow the steps you told me to?

    Thanks.
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Ireb doesn't downgrade the baseband.
    You still need to do the ipad flash with redsnow and then downgrade it.
    About installing the ipad baseband to unlock again its a little more complicated than that depending on what firmware you're on and if you're on tethered JB or not etc... I'd suggest you spend a few bucks and get the permanent unlock instead if you need it unlocked.
     
  15. 1Sail0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #15
    Ok. So basically this will make my iPhone stock....not jailbroken or anything. And then I have to pay someone on eBay to unlock it? Is that difficult/risky?
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
  17. 1Sail0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #17
    Ok currently jailbreaking now and downgrading the baseband. Will update you!
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    Don't jailbreak.
    Uncheck everything.
    Just select flash ipad baseband and go on with the process.
    And then only select downgrade baseband.
    Do not skip flashing the ipad baseband first before you attempt to downgrade it.
    Or it will NOT work.
     
  19. 1Sail0r, Jul 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013

    1Sail0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #19
    Oh no!!!
    That's strange. I didn't see an option for that on redsn0w. Maybe it's because I'm using the most recent version?

    Anyway it had a flashing step built in. Now My iphone boots up!!!! :) I'm not getting any bars though (expected because I have a T-Mobile SIM) and I also have Cydia installed.

    My baseband is 5.13.04 and I am on iOS firmware 4.1. Am I good to go? Can I just send in my IMEI for a factory unlock now and be done with it?

    Or should I upgrade to 6.1 first. Thanks!

    Also (sorry for the questions if they may seem annoying to you), is it bad that I installed Cydia? Should I get rid of it somehow if it will affect the unlock? The reason I'm hesitant to upgrade to 6.1 is that I feel that my phone does not have enough RAM to handle it and might run slow. 4.1 is nice and zippy.

    Thanks.
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    Yep, you're fine on iOS 4.1 and with baseband 05.13.05
     
  21. 1Sail0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #21
    Thank you so much for all the help!! Just one more question.

    So now that I have Cydia on my phone I assume it's jailbroken. After I unlock it, (WHILE JAILBROKEN), can I just use the update feature on iTunes to update my 3GS to 6.1.x to remove the jailbreak and keep the unlock?
     
  22. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #22
    If you update (and remove a jailbreak), it will remove any software unlock
    If you buy an IMEI unlock, firmware and baseband are irrelevant.
     
  23. 1Sail0r thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #23
    Thank you very much! I just placed an IMEI unlock order with SwiftUnlocks. Will follow their directions when they get back to me, then probably restore to 6.1.x using iTunes to remove the jailbreak and 4.1.

    Again thanks for everything! Really appreciate it.
     

Share This Page