Erasing Content While Retaining 3.0

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Xanderprime, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. Xanderprime macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #1
    I plan on selling my iPhone 3g. If I "erase all content and settings" will it also wipe the 3.0 update? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Drewsky87 macrumors 6502

    Drewsky87

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    MD
    #2
    No, but you may be better off restoring the phone through iTunes. I did the erase all settings and content on my phone and after about 30 minutes it was maybe 10% finished.
     
  3. Xanderprime thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. I've already did the wipe, just wasn't sure if 3.0 is retained. Thanks.
     
  4. AiralynRose macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #4
    You do realize that if you don't do the full wipe (which can take over 2 hours) then if you sell your phone a hacker can get ALL of your information back?

    A restore only erases the table that knows where everything is stored.
    An erase fully erases over everything a couple times to ensure that it cannot be recovered.
     
  5. Drewsky87 macrumors 6502

    Drewsky87

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    MD
    #5
    Sold it to my cousin and she's not gonna sell it to anyone. Not too worried about that. As for the OP, that could be a problem then.
     

Share This Page