Erasing my Server HD on my Mac Mini Lion Server

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by brainwave89, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. brainwave89, Aug 16, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2011

    brainwave89 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #1
  2. Foogoofish macrumors regular

    Foogoofish

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #2
    So I am guessing you have gone through the initial startup and you are looking at your desktop. Wrong already! What you need to do from now, is power off, and boot holding down CMD+R. This will put you into recovery mode.

    From here (it takes 3 mins or so to get to a screen), you then go along the top menu bar and find Disk Utility. Then from there you can create your RAID set that you desire. If you need help on this part just say.

    Obviously, to turn it into RAID 1, then you will need to reformat the HD's and reinstall OS X Server. Luckily, the new reinstall of Lion is perfect (in my expirience). So format the hard drives in RAID, and then go through the mac recovery system and let it download Lion and reinstall. From here, you will have the look of a brand new machine, but with your HD's now working in RAID 1.

    Please feel free to ask if you need any clarification. Basically, the crux is that you need to do the RAID setup before you do anything else on a new computer. Pain in the arse I know!!!
     
  3. brainwave89 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #3
    Thank you Foogoofish! Once I got into Recovery Mode I was able to wipe out what I needed.
    If I have further questions I will reply once again.

    Many thanks.
     
  4. Foogoofish macrumors regular

    Foogoofish

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    London
    #4
    All sorted then mate? Fingers crossed for you!
     
  5. brainwave89 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #5
    Thanks Foogoofish.

    It is working great. I am looking forward to learning about Lion Server.

    Cheers!
     
  6. brainwave89 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #6
    I do have a question about accessing my new Lion Server on my brand new Mac Mini.

    After changing my host name to a.b.private under the Network tab I turned on the VPN. I then tried to access it remotely by connecting to server ssh a.b.private without any success.

    Any help setting up VPN access for my Lion Server will be appreciated.
     
  7. jsavvy macrumors member

    jsavvy

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #7
    When you say accessing it remotely, are you trying to access it while on your local network?
     

Share This Page