Erratic signal

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by Pagemakers, Oct 23, 2011.

  1. Pagemakers macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #1
    At home on my iPhone 4 I would get 3-4 bars 24/7.

    Moved to a 4S and now I get ZERO for a time. Then it jumps to 4 bars for a while. Then 1 then 0 and so on.

    I send text messages and get more failed messages from home in a day then I had on my iPhone 4 in 3 months.

    Anybody else with worse reception then on their iPhone 4?
     
  2. baltoyyz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    #2
    I have the same issue on my 4s. Goes from full bars to none then to full again. Sometimes I get a message saying the network was lost. I think it has to do with switching between the two atennas. I might have my phone swapped out at the apple store.
     
  3. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
  4. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    Which carrier? They are testing this new switching method on AT&T and knowing that network it is completely half baked.
     
  5. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #5
    Orange uk. Same as my iPhone 4 which shows a steady 3-4 bars at home all the time...see initial post.
     
  6. baltoyyz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
  7. blue5ft3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    #7
    I have that issue on all of our devices but it's not the device it's a combination of AT&T lowering your data speed? ( I am not a pro but it is what they said) and my ISP they suck, when I looked at the forums there I found so many others with the same problem, they cap the upload and download ceiling ? , it sucks. I paid for the best service they have and fastest. Other sites confirmed that my speed etc, is about as good as they get in rural China for example and they are the ONLY ISP that is available to us, the only one. Something is wrong here. 2 days after Hurricane Irene, we have a generator so I could get online, no phone service AT&T was down.. Some services.
     
  8. Godzirra macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere on Salisbury plain, and Apple, UK
    #8
    I've got the same problem, used to get a decent 3g signal in my place, and since upgrading to the 4s, i only get a 3g signal at the back of the house, and nothing at all at the front of the house. I'm on O2 in the south of England.
     
  9. gogglehead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #9
    Me too - on Vodafone UK

    Signal strength jumps from No Signal to 4 bars if I just rotate the phone 90 degrees either in the air or on a flat surface. Very temperamental and combined with the lack of an automatic resend for SMS (still!) this is a real annoyance.

    I have the feeling that the antenna system has not been upgraded at all despite the press releases. If it has been upgraded then some of the same issues must still exist.

    Not happy :(
     

Share This Page