error 1600 and 23 restoring. need help.please.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by :Rob:, Jul 20, 2009.

  1. :Rob: macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #1
    Hi,
    I'm on 3.0 with a 2g, I got a message on iphone screen saying the phone needed to be restored...(never seen it before).
    I connected to itunes and alt+click restore, selected the custom ipsw, but after extracting the software i got the message error 23 and the phone went in recovery mode (USB+ itunes logo).
    Tried again to create a new ispw with pwnage got in DFU (black screen) tried to restore but after extracting the software first the phone screen goes white and then I get the message error 1600 the phone stays white.

    Tried and retried many times some solution on the internet none worked.

    The consistent pattern i get is error 23 if i try to restore from recovery mode, error 1600 and white screen in i try from DFU.
    Any help really, really appreciate thanks.

    I'm on itunes 8.2.1 (6) on a mac 10.5.7
     
  2. sako94 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #2
    im not 100% sure but i think itunes 8.2.1 broke jailbreak...


    but another option is restore to 3.0 regular .... then when you use pwnage tool and it says has this iphone ever been pwned before click No..thats caused me a lot of problems when i click yes

    and try again if it doesnt work then try deleting 8.2.1 and try on 8.2 ..
     
  3. :Rob: thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #3
    tried everything

    Thx. tried everything already with 8.2 and regular restore, repwned, etc, and I was getting the same error messages. than up dated to 8.2.1 and did it all over again still i got the same errore message 1600 and 23. other suggestions?
     
  4. :Rob: thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #4
    error 1600 and 23 restoring. need help.please.

    I also notice that iphone info don't show up. is that normal? thx.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Edwin124 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    #5

    it is normal. it is showing up like that because it is stuck in recovery mode!

    try power cycling your computer and use a different usb port (preferably on the back of the computer) a 1600 error usually means something wrong w/ either usb port or cable
     
  6. :Rob: thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #6
    Thx. Tried to use different cables and different ports on the mac without success. I also tried on a PC machine with the same results. :(
     
  7. RobT macrumors 6502a

    RobT

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #7
    When I ran into this problem myself I started totally from scratch.

    Restore the phone to stock in iTunes. Then, run Pwnage tool and create a new custom IPSW, and install the new custom IPSW you just created as if you haven't done this before. Don't just try in install a custom IPSW you created sometime in the past. Go from beginning to end in one session as if you've never jailbroken or created a custom IPSW before.

    Worked for me. Just trying to help.
     
  8. :Rob: thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #8
    Tried that as well

    thx, when i tried that itunes started extracting the stock software but as soon as it was done i got either 1600 or 23 error
     
  9. Edwin124 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    #9
    you might need to go to an apple store and see if they can restore it there. if they can't the phone may need to get replaced
     
  10. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #10
    Have you tried restoring to the stock firmware 3.0, then restoring it to custom 3.0 by DFU mode? I've had the same error before and I had to restore back to stock firmware to make it work.

    In addition, might I ask why not use redsn0w? It's a lot easier than pwnagetool.
     
  11. :Rob: thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #11
    As I said I tried to restore to stock fw. but i have the same error as with the custom fw. Can I use redsn0w with 2g?
     
  12. Maverick1337 macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #12
    If your on a mac use PwnageTool.

    I jailbroke my phone last night and was getting the same errors as you said before. When i plugged in my iphone i got the same blank iTunes and then proceeded to alt+restore the custom firmware i build during PwnageTool. Everything loaded and cydia and ice were there.

    The only bad problem was i didnt have any service, maybe my phone wasnt activated? But i didnt care to find or fix the problem so I just restored back to reg. 3.0

    Does anyone know what may have happened to cause no service reception? Also, i was using iTunes 8.2.1.
     
  13. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #13
    Have you try restoring to original firmware on recovery mode? (the mode where the screen is on) I've faced the same problem as you and that was the way I was able to restore the iPhone.
     
  14. :Rob: thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #14
    Nothing to do. i can enter DFU mode and pwnage comfirms that i'm in DFU then i alt+restore with itunes, it extract the software and the iphone screen goes white (completely white) and after 10-15 sec I get error 23 (sometimes error 1600).
    That sucks.
    :(:(:(
     
  15. Maverick1337 macrumors 65816

    Maverick1337

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #15
    My screen did the same thing, it went white for about 15 seconds, but then booted up and it was jailbroken. I dont know whats different.
     
  16. :Rob: thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #16
    Problem solved.

    Hi,
    After trying to downgrade to previous fw without any success I connected the phone to the mac through a powered usb hub and that's it, it worked. I restored 3.0 and then sync the phone. Took me 1 week though.
    Thanks everybody for your help.
    :cool:
     
  17. Rusalka macrumors regular

    Rusalka

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #17
    Had this problem yesterday when I jailbroke my friends phone, I just re-downloaded 3.0 (on his 2g) and then redsnowed again and it just miraculously worked

    So maybe try re installing 3.0?
     

Share This Page