Error 1600! I AM GOING TO FREKIN KILL SOMETHING IF I DONT FIX MY IPHONE!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by ultramaze, Sep 14, 2008.

  1. ultramaze macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
    #1
    AAAAAAHHHHHHHH! I am so MAAAD! I have been up for 12 hours trying to fix my iphone!!! I wanted to upgrade to 2.1 originally but now i just want to get back to where i was which was unlocked and jailbroken 2.0.1!!! I have done freakin everything and i give up now. I will not have a phone to use untill somebody helps me! PLEASE I am going to DIEE!!!!! UHGHGHAAKLJKASKSJH!!!!!
     
  2. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #2
    Right seriously, please explain exactly what's happened. We can't help you if you just scream like that and haven't actually given us any more information.

    (Btw, from the error code, it seems like it's something to do with your computer.)
     
  3. ultramaze thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
    #3
    haha sorry i just pounded my fists into the ground and i feel better now. So from the top. Yesterday i had an iphone that worked great. i have t mobile and i unlocked 2.0.1 and everything a while back. So i read that pwnage tool works on 2.1. and so i decided to upgrade. I used my pc with quickpwn and did all the necessary things to get 2.1 and instead of restarting after quick pwn did its thing (which is what all the forums and stuff say will happen) my phone just went blank. no apple logo or nothin. just black screen. so, i went to recovery mode and tried to restore it from the old recovery i made with 2.0.1 to just get it back to how it was.
    I was hopeing everything would just get back to how it was and i could just try again. but no! It stayed in the recovery screen and i have never gotten past that recovery screen. i have tried several other things like, trying to upgrade to 2.0.2 or making a new recovery with pwnage. I even went over to my mac to try to get it back. i uninstalled itunes 8 and have 7.7. everytime i go into dfu mode and try to restore in itunes it says error 1600

    I am trying to think, am i still in 2.0.1 or in some other wierd firmware right now on my iphone. i have never actually been able to "officially" restore and update it through itunes because i dont have an att sim card i guess.

    PLEASE HELP!
     
  4. Trajectory macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Location:
    Earth
  5. ultramaze thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
    #5
    but will they even talk to me? I didnt even but it from them! I got it used! And i have t mobile! I think im screwed!
     
  6. gibbz macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #6
    Good luck getting them to help you considering your phone was unlocked. Apple has a policy of not supporting iPhones that have had their software/hardware tampered with.
     
  7. ultramaze thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
    #7
    ya i know! Thats why i want to avoid it! I just cant believe this! I have never been this stumped, and im a pretty tech savvy guy, i have no idea what happened. i am so pissed
     
  8. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #8
    Try another computer. Or ask a mate who's Pwned before.
     
  9. ultramaze thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
    #9
    i think what i will do is get my friends att sim card and put it in my phone and do a full restore on it through itunes then pwn it. will that work??
     
  10. gloveandco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #10
    Error 1600

    I have a used 3g that was unlocked (workable without a sim) then I restored it completely and it didn't work. I have t-mobile service just so you know...anyways. I get the 1600 error when I try to restore it with *iPhone1,2_2.0_5A347_Custom_Restore.ipsw.* Can someone please help me? I appreciate it.:):):)
     
  11. domness macrumors 6502a

    domness

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #11
    You can unlock a 3G iPhone?

    Did you buy it unlocked? - If you did, why the **** did you restore it atm when there isn't a normal unlock for the 3G available?

    Oh, and you're restoring it with a 2.0 firmware... Don't you want 2.1?
     
  12. PLin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #12
    I originally pwned my iPhone with 2.1 using the unofficial method. When the dev team released Pwnage for 2.1, I figured I should do it again using the official method, so I created a custom firmware but kept on getting the 1600 error even when restoring from DFU mode.

    I tried putting the phone in DFU mode and clicking Restore to apply Apple's official 2.1, which worked fine, but then I still kept getting 1600 when trying to apply the custom firmware. I did this about 3 times with the same results.

    However, I finally got it work. For some reason, I had to put the phone in DFU mode and option-click Restore and then select Apple's official firmware, which seemed take longer to restore than just simply clicking Restore, even though the same firmware was being used. After that, I put the phone in DFU mode again option-clicked Restore and selected the custom firmware, and everything worked fine.

    So, in summary, this is how I fixed my error 1600 problem:

    1. Put iPhone in DFU mode and option-click Restore and select Apple's official firmware. Be sure to option-click and not just click, even if the firmware is stored where iTunes expects it to be.

    2. Put iPhone in DFU mode and option-click Restore and select the custom firmware.

    Hope that helps those of you who are having problems.
     
  13. ultramaze thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
    #13
    so heres the verdict. I went over to my friends house (who is like a mac wiz) and we tried every single combination. It still didnt work! But now that i read what lots of you guys are saying i can see that i am not the only one out there with this problem! Good. Someone will figure this out!
     
  14. ultramaze thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
    #14
    so did you use itunes 8 or 7??
     
  15. hengyu408 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Location:
    san Jose, CA
    #15
    Have you tried restoring to the original 2.0.2 firmware. Then once you have the iPhone working again, use quickpwn to pwn the iPhone with the 2.1 firmware. With quickpwn you need to have a clean iPhone before you can pwn it.
     
  16. ultramaze thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
  17. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #17
    I've only seen one other thread where the phone had to be returned, so keep reaching for that rainbow.
     
  18. ultramaze thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
    #18
    Oh im reachin for it! I will figure this out dang it! I just uninstalled all apple everything off my pc. then installed itunes 7.7. I went into DFU mode and Shift restored the normal 2.1 apple .ipsw . then i went into DFU mode again and shift resored to custom 2.1.ipsw. it now says "unknown error 1602" whats that? thats different?
     
  19. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #19
    a) 3G cannot be software unlocked.
    b) You're not using the proper cable.
    c) You're not in DFU mode. Post a YouTube video of your attempts.
     
  20. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #20
    This is why I'll never unlock a phone for anybody.
     
  21. hengyu408 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Location:
    san Jose, CA
    #21
    Don't use the custom ipsw, use quickpwn and it will unlock it for you.
     
  22. gloveandco macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #22
    Look I dont Know anything about this ****

    LOok I don't know anything about 2.0 this 2.1 that...don't know the difference between jailbreaking and unlocking. All i know is that I'm a poor college student who was given a used iphone and I restored it through the settings. Now all I want to do is just use it or play around with it...I assume that means jailbreaking. Is there anyone who can please take me through the steps and the downloads I need.? Seiosuly there is so much written about all this that I can;t figure it out.

    THANKS:D:D:D:D
     
  23. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #23
    Hold Home & Power until the silver apple screen appears. Does it boot into Homescreen?

    You have to Restore with Apple's approved 2.1 Firmware first. Then open PWNAGE and build a Custom Firmware. Then enter DFU and Shift/Option Click Restore.

    I'd be happy to chat if you'd PM your AIM screen name.
     
  24. neesh0 macrumors 6502a

    neesh0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #24
    Are you using the official apple iphone cable or a 3rd party one? Make sure you use the one that came in box and make sure there is no dirt or dust in the phone port and both ends of the cable, that fixed my problem when I had an error similar to this (I forgot the code)
     
  25. ultramaze thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    tennessee
    #25
    ok i havent tried that yet
     

Share This Page