Error 1602 when upgrading from jailbroken 5.1.1 to 6.0.1

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Hoodie*, Nov 10, 2012.

  1. Hoodie* macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #1
    Do I need to upgrade to 6.0 first or something?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    You can't upgrade a jailbroken device. You must restore to the newer firmware then restore your data from a backup.
     
  3. Hoodie* thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #3
    So I need to install a fresh version of 5.1.1?
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    You want to get to iOS 6.0.1? You need to click restore in iTunes, not update.
     
  5. Hoodie* thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #5
    While jailbroken? I'm doing that now.
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Yes. But do keep in mind this will wipe ever thing on your device and you'll have to get your data back via a backup.
     
  7. Hoodie* thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #7
    Ok. It actually went past the recovery screen but now its just a blank screen. It still says preparing iphone for restore.

    If this dissent work, what about upgrading through the phones updater?
     
  8. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    You cannot preform an OTA update on a jailbroken device. It simply will not work.
     
  9. Hoodie* thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #9
    Ahh, well I just got the 1604 error after trying to "restore ". I think my host file got jacked up a while back and I couldn't figure out how to fix it.
     
  10. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #10
    Use Google to find out how to access and modifiy the hosts file for your system and remove all lines that have apple.com in them. Also redownload the IPSW. It may be corrupt.
     
  11. Hoodie* thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
  12. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  13. Hoodie* thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #13
    Ok did that, now how can redownload the file? I downloaded it through iTunes.
     
  14. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #14
    If iTunes downloaded it, the file should be fine.
     
  15. Hoodie* thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    #15
    Ok well its trying now.

    ----------

    Ok when I click restore, it says restore and update. Is that what I need to do?
     
  16. VanillaXtract macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #17
    I'm having the exact same issue. But I get the 1602 whether I hit update or restore.
     

Share This Page