Error 3002 when upgrading to iOS 5 beta?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by kyle1320, Jun 6, 2011.

1. kyle1320 macrumors regular

kyle1320

Hey people, so when I try to upgrade / restore to the new iOS 5 beta I get error 3002. I have upgraded to the latest iTunes (the developer preview one designed for iOS 5 beta) and have tried option+restore and option+upgrade. Any ideas?

2. macingman macrumors 68020

macingman

Do you have a registered dev account? Are you even a dev, if your not a dev you really shouldn't use the iOS5 beta. It's dev only for a reason.

3. sikosis macrumors newbie

I am an iOS developer and I've got the same error :(

4. bc2116 macrumors newbie

Same here...but

I'm a paid Dev and I got the 3002 as well. I believe this is usually a provisioning problem, but my iphone/pad has been provisioned and worked for the previous 4.3 betas/etc. Neither are working now the 3002 error. I've tried a new provisioning profile without further luck.

But, I'm testing the theory that restoring the phone from the beta, rather than upgrading, may yet work. The rather large catch is that one should expect to lose everything and return to a factory install, with no gaurantees of restoring back to 4.x. Hmm... we'll soon see!

5. bc2116 macrumors newbie

The most surprising result...

So I chose the "restore" method (option-cmd restore) to upgrade to iOS 5beta. As expected, it installed fine, but to factory defaults. After a new iOS 5 setup screen it gave me the option to restore from backup, which I chose, just to confirm if there was an escape route left.