Error Code -1309

Discussion in 'macOS' started by miloblithe, Jun 9, 2007.

  1. miloblithe macrumors 68020

    miloblithe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #1
    What the heck is -1309? I can't find it on the lists?

    (happens copying a large iMovie project to an external HD)
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Using Finder?

    How big is the file you're copying? What format is the external disk (FAT32)?
     
  3. miloblithe thread starter macrumors 68020

    miloblithe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    The file is nearly 30GB.

    The external HD is FAT32.
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    I believe that FAT32 has a 2 GB limit. You will need to either use HFS+ or split up the file (you might be able to do this with StuffIt or RAR).
     
  5. miloblithe thread starter macrumors 68020

    miloblithe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #5
    Crap. That's frustrating.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  6. Telp macrumors 68040

    Telp

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
  7. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #7
    8 terabytes, IIRC. Max files size for any single file is 2GB.
     
  8. miloblithe thread starter macrumors 68020

    miloblithe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #8
    Very strange though. I was able to copy a 3.2 GB iMovie project though. I guess the project is made up of several files, some of which may or may not be larger than 2GB?
     
  9. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #9
    Downside to FAT32.

    I encountered the same problem. Reformatted the drive as HFS+ and all is fine, just a bit more of a pain to get data off the drive if using a Windows machine.
     
  10. eyebeaz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    #10
    I always thought FAT32 had a 4GB limit per file?
     
  11. miloblithe thread starter macrumors 68020

    miloblithe

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #11
    Well that would certainly explain my experience. OK. My other external hard drive is in "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)", so I'll try that one. (Unfortunately, I have too much data to take everything off the FAT32 one and reformat it right now.
     

Share This Page