Error Code 36 External Hard Drive SMB

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by nick_thompson, Jan 23, 2016.

  1. nick_thompson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    Since i upgraded my Macbook Pro to El Capitan, i keep getting error code -36 when copying files to a external hard drive connected to a Windows 7 PC on my network. Before the upgrade everything was fine.

    The exact error is:

    'The Finder can't complete the operation because some data in "filename" can't be read or written. (Error Code -36)'

    I've looked online and tried the dot_clean solution, this hasn't made any difference. I can sometimes get the files to copy over but it usually takes multiple attempts and i can only do one file at a time.

    I am connecting to the Windows 7 PC using smb://

    Any idea what i can do?

    Thanks

    Nick
     
  2. nick_thompson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
  3. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #3
    I'll take a guess since no one replied. Is it possible that you had software on your Mac that allowed you to write to Windows NTFS drives that no longer functions or needs updating to work in El Capitan?
     
  4. nick_thompson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    #4
    i dont think so, i never installed anything anyway. I only ever transfer files to the NTFS drive over a network. I can try installing software to see if it makes any difference. Thanks
     
  5. stic6021 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    #5
    Does your use case behave any differently if you connect using "cifs://" instead of "smb://"? Just a hunch.
     
  6. nick_thompson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    #6
    Hey, i cant seem to connect with cifs
     
  7. stic6021 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    #7
    Interesting. Does the Mac display an error message?
     
  8. nick_thompson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    #8
    I just tried again and CIFS worked. It seems to be ok so far, no error messages. Why would SMB produce the error and CIFS not?

    Thanks
     
  9. stic6021 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    #9
    Because I haven't studied the relevant source for Finder and the OS, I don't know - but i can speculate. As I understand it, connecting with the string "cifs://" tells Finder and/or the OS to insist on using the SMB1 protocol, while using "smb://" allows the protocol level to be negotiated with the server. The latter will often results in agreeing on SMB2 or SMB3. The code that speaks SMB1 has been around longer than the code that speaks SMB2 and SMB3. This is true on the client and server sides. It seems possible the newer code includes some bugs.
     
  10. nick_thompson thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    #10
    so i've been using CIFS for the last few days and its working fine. Its odd that the OS upgrade seems to have broken SMB.
     

Share This Page