Error during install

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by ggpike, Sep 20, 2016.

  1. ggpike macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    #1
    2010 MBP 17" w/ SSD

    On attempting to install Sierra I am presented with this error message:

    "macOS could not be installed on your computer"

    "An internal error has occurred. Quit the installer to restart your computer and try again"

    I restarted the computer and entered my system password. The computer turned off. I attempted to restart into Safe Mode but it keeps going back to the password prompt which leads to a progress bar and then the computer shuts off.

    I then rebooted into Recovery and ran first aid on both the HD and Sierra installer. Everything checked out. However another restart resulted in the same loop as before.

    So I am unable to boot into Safe Mode and First Aid seems to check out in Recovery. Yet I'm unable to get anywhere with the install.

    (I also reset PRAM)
     
  2. mckandy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    I just got the exact same error message when installing on my iMac. Would love any ideas about what to do! When I click restart it boots into a macOS Utilities screen. Then I tried the option "Reinstall macOS" and I get the same error message again.
     
  3. fatihayoglu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #3
    +1 here. iMac 5k and it is not installing. I have re downloaded the installer and still no luck.
     
  4. adamda30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    #4
    I've had the same issue. Even tried to rebuild back to Lion and then upgrade. Same result. In the log it seems as though it's failing because of an incorrect hash after it's just downloaded the update from Apple. Tried three or four times. Thought it could be a clock issue so make sure that the clock was reset in terminal and still the same. anyone?
     
  5. fatihayoglu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #5
    Anybody on here had any luck? The installer messed up my drive and now I'm forced to recover the whole drive from Time Machine
     
  6. bradbomb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    I had the same issue with my laptop. The whole drive was screwed and was only read-only when I used an external drive to boot up. I left my MacBook Pro still recovering from my network Time Machine (Hard Drive hooked up to a Raspberry Pi). I have another backup on a USB Flash Drive, but it was older. My work iMac didn't have issues at all and I've been running Sierra since the Public Beta.
     
  7. fatihayoglu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #7
    Btw how do you reset the clock?

    I'm asking this because I have realised that on the install log during my not working install attempt, the time stamps are all wrong.
     
  8. adamda30 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    #8
    Hi all - to reset the time you have to get into terminal and type the command sudo ntpdate -u time.apple.com
    I recovered using time machine and tried again this evening and it's updated without any issues. I wonder if there was an issue with apple servers last night with so many trying to download the update???? try again is my advice
     
  9. mckandy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    I've tried multiple times to reinstall and I get the same error message. Apple phone support was no help at all - guess I'll take it to an Apple Store
     
  10. fastbagger macrumors member

    fastbagger

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    #10
    Same here I even called Apple support could not fix.
     
  11. fatihayoglu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #11
    Well, the root of my problems were a faulty RAM module that I have purchased. Although it didnt cause any problem previously and Apple Diagnostics didnt find any problem, on my last attempt yesterday night, I have decided to check Apple Diagnostics again and it gave the error of PP003, which is the 3rd RAM slot. I've uninstalled all the RAM modules and installed the ones which came with my iMac and managed to install Sierra very quickly.
     
  12. bradbomb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    I restored from my Time Machine backup to my SSD and then was able to install Sierra with no errors
     
  13. ggpike thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    #13
    I ended up booting into Target mode, connecting my MBP to my wife's with an external drive. Transferred all my files to the external drive, booted my MBP back into Recovery, erased the HD, and reinstalled Capitan. After that I downloaded Sierra from the App Store again and installed it without any trouble. Unfortunately erasing the HD was the only option left to me
     

Share This Page