"Error Loading Operating System"

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Cuyler1, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. Cuyler1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #1
    Hello, First off I want to say I have owned my MacBook for a little over a year and have never had any problems. Today I woke up and went on my Macbook and I noticed there were 3 new updates. I did not have enough memory and I had already deleted some games in the past to do updates. Well I downloaded Windows XP Home about half a year ago and decided I really did not use it all that much. When I downloaded It i cut the memory in half (1/2 OS X and 1/2 Windows XP) So I went back to my Bootcamp installation papers to see how to properly uninstall Windows. So I did and everything seemed fine the only thing I thought was odd is that it only took like 3 seconds to uninstall so i knew it did not actually uninstall. I did not think much of it cause I could now download the update. So I downloaded the updates and the system rebooted and after the light blue screen went away a black screen came up that said "No bootable device -- Insert boot disk and press any key" So I tried the OS X disc. It did nothing. I put in the Windows XP disc it poped up a blue downloadng screen for windows XP after a little bit it said WIndows was already installed. I then clicked on file C: and uninstalled it. again it went fast so I was confused. I then quit it and It then popped up "error loading operating system" So I was getting worried. I am now stuck here and nothing works only the power button. When i reboot the light blue screen comes up and then that message and I cannot do anything. Please please please help me! I really need to get this fixed because I am doing online school so I need the laptop for it! Thank you so much everyone!
     
  2. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #2
    Turn the computer on and hold the Alt (option) key until a window comes up that lets you pick between OS X and Windows. Mouse over to OS X, click it, and smile.
     
  3. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #3
    Reboot while holding the option key. You will see either one or two hard drive icons. Make sure there is nothing in the DVD drive.

    You should be able to boot into OSX then.
     
  4. Cuyler1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #4
    Thank you but....


    thank you for such a fast response guys! I did that and OS X is not there? what should I do?
     
  5. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #5
    If OS X isn't there (all you see is Windows Boot Camp), you may have screwed something up when partitioning. You might need to do a fresh reinstall. Boot off your install DVD, fire up Disk Utility, and make sure the partitions show up.
     
  6. Cuyler1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #6
    when I reinstall I get past the first part to select language then It asks where to save it to and nothing shows up. Did I rune my hard drive or something?
     
  7. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #7
    Go to Tools -> Disk Utility on the top and look at the drive partitions.
     
  8. Cuyler1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #8
    I am going to sound very stupid but I do not see tools. Where is that located? also you are awesome!
     
  9. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #9
    It's at the top of the menu bar when you get the intro screen.

    BTW when you go into disk utilities I would recommend deleting any partitions and make one partition.
     
  10. Cuyler1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #10
    what should I do from here. I see 149.1 GB Hitachi HTS and a lot of numbers then under it says diskOs1 and it is gray. there is a disc under that that says HL-DT-ST DVDRW. also when I am on the hitachi it comes up with nothing in the blank.
     
  11. uberamd macrumors 68030

    uberamd

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #11
    Sounds like something is messed up. I have boot camp and OS X, and I see 2 partitions. If you are seeing only 1, it sounds like something messed up the partitions. Your best bet is a reinstall as far as i can tell.
     
  12. Cuyler1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #12


    I really want to reinstall but When I go to there isnt a destination I can click on.... I really hope I did not trash my MacBook
     
  13. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #13
    Select the main HD. It's the hitachi one. You must have a Macbook.

    Do not select the partition listed under the HD. Select the HD itself and then click on Partition. Make it a single one.
     
  14. Cuyler1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #14
    what should I do after this? I know I am really computer stupid...
     
  15. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #15
    After it has been partitioned go to the menu bar and close the disk utility and proceed with a clean install of OSX.:)
     
  16. MugonKira macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    #16
    Hello everyone!

    I have got a really nasty problem with my MacBook. I was also running XP and Mac OS X. Then, I decided to reinstall XP for various reasons, and deleted the XP partition through Disk Utility on Mac OS X. When I restarted my MacBook, it came up with "error loading operating system", and holding an option key on startup shows only the Windows partition.. Should I mention that before the XP partition was set as "active" as I noticed from the Disk Manager.
    Therefore, I now have no access to Mac OS, no access to XP and when i try to boot from XP instalation disk, it shows the same error.
    My main problem is that i dont actually have a OSX dvd.
    I desperately NEED to get into one OS or another. Any ideas on how I can do that without a leopard dvd??

    Thanks
     

Share This Page