Error message I've never seen

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kdbilly, May 9, 2007.

  1. kdbilly macrumors member

    kdbilly

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Location:
    Fog City
    #1
    I started getting an error message (4 times) that is new to me, never before have encountered it. I'm thinking it might have something to do with itunes, but not sure. It seems to have started since i've started using itunes recently.

    It says it's reported by TechTool which I have installed on the system for maintenance. I've posted a screen shot of the message.

    Is this something I should be concerned about? How concerned? It's happening on a G4/733. Any info would be great.

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #2
    The SMART routines are built into the hard drive itself by the drive manufacturer. They are proprietary and different for each drive manufacturer. Basically, a threshold exceeded indicates that the drive has exceeded what the manufacturer thinks are proper operating parameters for it and it may be getting close to failing. For an interpretation of the seriousness of a specific problem you would need to contact the drive manufacturer. A failure is a warning to be sure to keep good backups and consider replacing the drive. If you get a SMART failure on a drive that is under warranty, the drive manufacturer will typically replace the drive.
     
  3. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
  4. kdbilly thread starter macrumors member

    kdbilly

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Location:
    Fog City
    #4
    Wow, thanks for the fast replies. Bummer though.. I'm backing up today and replacing the drive ASAP.

    Anyone know how to back up lotsa gigs of itunes stuff? I've never done that yet.

    Thanks again.. you all rock!
     
  5. skinnylegs macrumors 65816

    skinnylegs

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego
    #5
    I'd pick up a USB external HD as they are next to nothing nowadays.
     
  6. PkennethV macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    Defiantly best/easiest way is on an external hard drive if you've got one handy (if not then now is a good time to get one...). That way you can backup the entire system. If not then there's a feature in iTunes under File>Backup to Disk. You're going to need a few DVDs or a lot of CDs though, depending on how much data you have.
     
  7. FocusAndEarnIt macrumors 601

    FocusAndEarnIt

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    #7
    FireWire would be a heck of a lot faster.

    FireWire is, in my experience, MUCH faster & more reliable. Well worth the investment.

    Oh, and - the iTunes thing. Just copy the iTunes folder listed in your Home Folder -> Music -> iTunes. just copy the entire folder over. :)
     
  8. mustang_dvs macrumors 6502a

    mustang_dvs

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #8
    Dupe the entire disk with Carbon Copy Cloner -- it can either overwrite a blank disk or create a Disk Image (.dmg) on the target disk.

    http://www.bombich.com/software/ccc.html

    BTW, Firewire has the advantage of being bootable, if the drive that's failing is your boot disk.

    Unfortunately, it appears that it's a Western Digital drive... if it were a Seagate, it'd have a higher chance of still having warranty left (they have the longest drive warranties in the industry -- 5-to-10 years), but it's worth checking on WDC's website if you still have any warranty left.

    Update: I took the liberty of checking your warranty (you might want to remove the image or blur/mosaic the serial)...
    It might be possible to extend the period of the warranty, if you have proof that it was purchased more recently -- enter the serial on WDC's website for instructions on how to update their info.
     
  9. kdbilly thread starter macrumors member

    kdbilly

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Location:
    Fog City
    #9
    Wow, you all are awesome. Thanks very much.

    I've replaced other drives with Western Digital drives, should I stick with that brand or is there a better one. I realize it's opinions, etc.

    Thanks again..
     
  10. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #10
    Western Digitals are fine some people don't like them. However i think they are just fine.
     
  11. dkoralek macrumors 6502

    dkoralek

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #11
    I'd second that.

    cheers.
     
  12. mustang_dvs macrumors 6502a

    mustang_dvs

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #12
    Except for the mass extinction of the 75GXP DeathStar, every hard drive that's ever failed on me for reasons that weren't environmental* was built by Western Digital. In the opinion of the IT staff that I supervised at my last job, Caviar might as well have been deemed "Crapiar".

    WDC might be better these days, and the Google Server Farm doc might actually show that WD's are as reliable, if not more so, these days (if the doc is authentic), but I'd rather plunk my cash onto another manufacturer's product.

    * I had a Seagate 7200.9 fail after the PCB was covered in brick dust due to an unannounced construction project in my old apartment building -- I can only imagine what it did to my lungs; I also had a 7200.10 drive that was DOA, likely due to carrier handling. Both were replaced under warranty by Seagate.
     
  13. dr01dy macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    #13

    errrr USB2 is faster then firewire 400
     
  14. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #14

    Only at peak, Firewire still is superior for sustained transfer rates. There's another thread that covered that pretty thoroughly.
     
  15. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #15
    As JohnNotBeatle said USB2 theoretically is faster but it can't stay at those speeds. However firewire can stay its speeds. So unless you transferring REALLY small files very rarely firewire will be faster. And then if you get firewire 800 its a totally different story again. :rolleyes:
     
  16. kdbilly thread starter macrumors member

    kdbilly

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Location:
    Fog City
    #16
    So, thanks to you guys for helping out. Very cool. I got everything backed up and bought a new HD. I keep getting the error message, so for curiosity sake I'm going to wait and see how and what happens next. I'm going to work it hard and see if I can make something happen. Thanks again..
     

Share This Page