Error occurred loading this content

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Sound214, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. Sound214 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #1
    Ever since I reset my Time Capsule, (which I've set up as both router and hard drive for my movies and TV-series) my Apple TV has had problem streaming videos. I can stream some TV-series and movies, seems quite random. I've deleted and re-located the files in iTunes, but that didn't help. I also run the latest updates for both the Apple TV and iTunes. The files that I'm having trouble with have worked many times before, so it's not a conversion-issue. I tried reseting my Apple TV, but since it runs the latest iOS 5 beta, I can just reset the settings.

    Apple TV just shows "Error occurred loading this content, please try again later"

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #2
    Beta versions of software are generally buggy. The whole point of a 'beta' release is to test for bugs...ad it sounds like you may have just found one.

    And I hope you have your movie files backed-up somewhere. Using a backup disc to serve your movie files is not the greatest use for it...unless you also have them backed up. If the hard drive fails, they are all gone.
     
  3. Sound214 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    Betas are often buggy, but since it worked seamlessly until the Time Capsule reset, it made me think that it had something to do with that.
     
  4. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #4
    Yes, I have no idea. Sorry I cannot help you. And since it is a beta and there are very few others using this, especially with your exact setup (TC hosting the movies) you may not find any help.

    Is going back to the 'approved' software an option for you? It's guaranteed to work.
     
  5. Sound214 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    It is, but I can't figure out a way to do that. My Apple TV doesn't show up under "Organizer" in Xcode, and it seems impossible to do it in iTunes. Any idea?
     
  6. mstrze macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #6
    Factory Reset? I believe it's an option in the ATV menus under reset. That should take you to the original OS that came with the unit. You can then do a software update from there.
     
  7. Sound214 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #7
    It doesn't work. All I can do is reset the settings. When I click on "Factory reset" it just shows: "Apple TV can not download the latest update right now. Please try again later" or something like that. It's in swedish, so it's my translation.
     
  8. Sound214 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Sweden
    #8
    It works now! I forced the Apple TV into DFU, and then successfully restored it with the latest iOS 4 ipsw.

    Thanks for all your help!
     

Share This Page