Error on startup of Terminal

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by MiKenning, Apr 8, 2012.

  1. MiKenning macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    #1
    [SORRY WRONG FORUM]

    Whenever I start up Terminal on my Mac, I always get this massive error thing:

    Code:
    declare -x Apple_PubSub_Socket_Render="/tmp/launch-6A9wFF/Render"
    declare -x Apple_Ubiquity_Message="/tmp/launch-gwQ1Vr/Apple_Ubiquity_Message"
    declare -x COMMAND_MODE="unix2003"
    declare -x DISPLAY="/tmp/launch-KIE1gp/org.x:0"
    declare -x GPG_AGENT_INFO="/Users/Mike/.gnupg/S.gpg-agent:203:1"
    declare -x HOME="/Users/Mike"
    declare -x LANG="en_GB.UTF-8"
    declare -x LOGNAME="Mike"
    declare -x OLDPWD
    declare -x PATH="/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/X11/bin:/usr/local/MacGPG2/bin"
    declare -x PWD="/Users/Mike"
    declare -x SHELL="/bin/bash"
    declare -x SHLVL="1"
    declare -x SSH_AUTH_SOCK="/tmp/launch-DF2Pcv/Listeners"
    declare -x TERM="xterm-256color"
    declare -x TERM_PROGRAM="Apple_Terminal"
    declare -x TERM_PROGRAM_VERSION="303"
    declare -x TERM_SESSION_ID="3B42234F-44BF-4658-B2A1-591BE60C7BFE"
    declare -x TMPDIR="/var/folders/hf/5v4dwqks5y3gwc_r9r7q18k40000gn/T/"
    declare -x USER="Mike"
    declare -x __CF_USER_TEXT_ENCODING="0x1F5:0:0"
    How do I resolve this? Thanks.
     
  2. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Perhaps repair permissions in disk utility? I am unsure.
     
  3. Puevlo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #3
    How do you know it's an error? Just looks like gibberish.
     
  4. MiKenning thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    #4
    Well, it sure as hell wasn't there when I first got my mac.
     
  5. Ccrew macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #5
    look at ubiquity.log to see what's being written there.

    I've seen three scenarios fix this. It's usually either a keychain issue, or caused by MobileMe/iCloud corrupting things. If you have dev tools on it it can also be caused by the ProKit Framework. Without seeing the log, here's the general fix

    1: try fixing disc permissions
    2: Download and install 10.7.3 combo updater from Apples website and install
    3: nuke and reinstall. Yeah, I know it's ugly.

    It's choking on fulling knowing who you are and tying userID/cert to the bash shell when you launch terminal.
     
  6. mslide, Apr 8, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2012

    mslide macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #6
    You could also double check your ~/.profile, ~/.bashrc, etc files. That will get printed out if you do something like:

    Code:
    export $FOO....
    instead of

    Code:
    export FOO...
    I do that all the time by accident when assigning environment variables while in terminal.
     

Share This Page