Error when trying to sudo a command in Terminal

Discussion in 'macOS' started by GenadeMusic, Apr 22, 2010.

1. GenadeMusic macrumors newbie

I'm a bit new at using terminal and sudo commands. But I have a step by step instruction. Only problem is I'm running into a problem when trying to log in with my password.

I'm working on a PowerPC G5. It's running Mac OSX 10.5.8

Here is the error message that appears when I try to log in.

2010-04-22 21:02:15.007 TextEdit[161:c0b] *** CFMessagePort: bootstrap_register(): failed 1100 (0x44c) 'Permission denied', port = 0x4403, name = 'com.apple.TextEdit.ServiceProvider'
    See /usr/include/servers/bootstrap_defs.h for the error codes.

A new window opens displaying this message

##
    # Host Database
    #
    # localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
    # when the system is booting. Do not change this entry.
    ##
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
    ::1 localhost
    fe80::1%lo0 localhost

Any idea of what I need to do?

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

The sudo command doesn't seem to be the issue, though you don't show it. The error is related to the TextEdit application. You haven't given much information so not much to help you with. So give more info on what you're up to and what you're running.

3. GenadeMusic thread starter macrumors newbie

Sorry. The command I'm running is

sudo /Applications/TextEdit.app/Contents/MacOS/TextEdit /etc/hosts

I'm basically trying to edit in some commands for a program that I'm having trouble fully installing or at least get fully running.

Any other info I can give?

4. mac2x macrumors 65816

That doesn't look like a valid command to me. Are you trying to change to that directory? If so you shouldn't need sudo. Just cd.

5. jtara macrumors 65816

Do this instead:
    Code:
    sudo open /Applications/TextEdit.app/Contents/MacOS/TextEdit /etc/hosts
    You need to use the open command to run a GUI application from the shell.