Error while installing Boot Camp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Kensington, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. Kensington macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    #1
    Hi all,

    History:
    bought a new Macbook last week, installed everything I needed including bootcamp and a XP partition. No problems, but I found that 80gb won't be sufficiant for me to work, so I bought a new 160gb drive, put this in an usb closeaure, formated it mac journal extended, used superduper and backed up the entire mac partition. Put the new drive into the mac and booted, works like a dream. But, of course, it didn't clone the windows partition, so I installed boot camp from scratch, and tried to run the assistent.

    Problem:
    I keep getting an error while running bootcamp assistent.
    [​IMG]
    As you can see in the background i've opened the disk utility to check if the format is correct....and it is.

    Any suggestions?

    Ken
     
  2. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #2
    Click on the 'options' button at the bottom of your disk utility window and check that it's 'GUID', if it's set to 'Apple' then I don't think you can use bootcamp with it. Not sure if you can change this without reformatting the drive or not.
     
  3. Kensington thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    #3
    Tyr2....I've been thinking about that too, so I did check it yesterday and you're right, it is set on "Apple partition map" and not "GUID Partition table".
    [​IMG]

    I just don't want to choose "GUID.." and push enter....don't know if I erase everything, and it's such a hassle to backup everything again.

    Anyone here who knows?
    EDIT: found this on the net: You’ll then need to re-partition the drive for this new setting to be used. This will erase the drive! Click on “Partition”, and the drive will be re-partitioned using the same partition names and sizes as before, but with the new “GUID Partition Table” partition map."

    so that speaks for itself......
    Any idea how I do this swiftly? I now have a clean disk on my usb-closeaure and the new disk in the mac....

    Tnx!
    Ken
     
  4. Haoshiro macrumors 68000

    Haoshiro

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Location:
    USA, KS
    #4
    Do you have .Mac? If so, you can download a Backup utility that lets you do this fairly easily.

    Some other options you could research: just copying your home folder (would lose application settings and registrations), making an image of the drive (this would probably be far too large), there may also be some other options if you boot the pc into Target Disk Mode.

    Sorry I can't be more helpful then that! Whenever I have done a manual backup, I always seem to lose at least SOMETHING without realizing it... until days/weeks later when I need it.

    Good Luck!
     
  5. Kensington thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    #5
    Had to re-format the drive.Used superduper to send back and forth...works like a dream now.
    Tnx.
     

Share This Page