Error while making partition.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by CiaranFinnegan, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. CiaranFinnegan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #1
    Hi, I'm trying to get Windows 7 on my mac and when I go to bootcamp and do a partition I get,

    The disk cannot be partitioned because some files cannot be moved.
    Back up the disk and use Disk Utility to format it as a single Mac OS Extended (Journaled) volume. Restore your information to the disk and try using Boot Camp Assistant again.

    My disk is not partitioned and it's formatted correctly so i searched and saw that my HDD is like untidy or whatever it is called and it needs defragged.
    So i get iDeFrag full version and I do not know how to work it. Then I read I should back up a clone of my HDD and then copy it back to my mac, but i have no external hard drive.

    How do I go about doing this?
    Or how do i use iDefrag?

    Btw, I'm making a partition of 32gb, My HDD has 118GB free and its total capacity is 160GB.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Relentlos macrumors member

    Relentlos

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #2

    I assume you tried installing windows already but ran into problems?


    Do you have all your data backed up?

    It seems that it's telling you to wipe the entire HDD using OS X's disk utility, and format the entire thing as HFS+ J (Mac OS X). Once that is done, and OS X is re-installed, run the bootcamp assistant. From there I think it will use the free space to create a partition for windows, and since it's free space, there should be nothing in it's way of setting it up.


    That's just what I get from the message. Sorry I can't help further, I don't have leopard or boot camp, I've never used it myself.



    If you do wipe it, you can do it with the OS X Install DVDs. There is a task bar at the top when the DVD's load. Use the Disk Utility in there to format the hard drive. Since it runs off the DVDs, it is able to fully wipe the HDD and re-format it.
     
  3. CiaranFinnegan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #3

    Apparently theres another way to get round it, just by defragging but right now I gave up with it.

    I have just 1 disk with my Macbook, it's a snow leopard disk. If i reformatted my HDD and boot it up and put the disk in does the laptop come out with a brand new fresh copy of Snow Leopard or is it not this easy?
     
  4. Relentlos macrumors member

    Relentlos

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    #4
    From my understanding, apple computers ship with install DVDs, (usually 2). They have all the drivers, and the entire OS on them, all designed for your specific machine. Using the DVDs, you can completely re-install snow leopard from scratch. These DVDs being specific to your mac mean you can't lend them out. It may work on the same model of mac, but not guaranteed to work on a different model.


    I have 2 Tiger DVDs that came with this iMac and they definitely work, I've wiped this more than once.


    You have just 1 DVD though? I thought it was always 2, though I think the OS itself is on just 1 of them. The other seems to be iLife and extras.
     
  5. CiaranFinnegan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    #5

    I got it working, I just popped in the disk shut down and ran it on boot up. Cleared my HDD in Disk Utility and re-intalled.
    Know anything about installing Windows 7?
    I keep getting 0xc0000e9 error, *sadface*.

    This is what I get, http://forums.virtualbox.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=21277
    Not my thread btw.
     

Share This Page