iPhone ESim active on AT&T

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by rbalkun, Oct 12, 2018.

  1. rbalkun macrumors regular

    rbalkun

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    #1
    Esim just became available on AT&T, more carriers coming soon I’m guessing.
     
  2. colburnr macrumors regular

    colburnr

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    Crown Point, IN
    #2
    How can you tell?
     
  3. rbalkun thread starter macrumors regular

    rbalkun

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    #3
    It’s on the bring your own device page.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. nicho macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #4
    "eSIM card"
     
  5. rbalkun thread starter macrumors regular

    rbalkun

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    #5
    And you put the esim number from your phone settings and it works
     
  6. coolaaron88 macrumors member

    coolaaron88

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    #6
    Any way to go about doing this if you have an extra line already and you just want to assign it it to eSIM?
     
  7. DeanLubaki macrumors 6502

    DeanLubaki

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto | Montréal | Québec
    #7
    Do you have a screenshot?
     
  8. jacklivehere macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    #8
    looks like its working now on att postpaid plans :)
     
  9. coolaaron88 macrumors member

    coolaaron88

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    #9
    Yeah Id like a screenshot myself
     
  10. mdesta, Oct 16, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2018

    mdesta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    #10
    https://m.att.com/shopmobile/wireless/byop.html
    --- Post Merged, Oct 16, 2018 ---
    Ok I can confirm that the eSim is available now on ATT!

    They're sending me a new eSIM card number via mail (for my existing data plan); They told me I would receive it in 3-4 business days.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Lobwedgephil macrumors 601

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #11
    Interesting, weird they have to mail it. Keep us posted.
     
  12. mdesta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    #12
    I imagine that it's just easier for them to keep the same workflow for both sim and esim, and it gives stronger guarantees that the person requesting the sim card is the owner of the data plan. Will keep you posted!
     
  13. DeanLubaki macrumors 6502

    DeanLubaki

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto | Montréal | Québec
    #13
    That makes sense but it defeats the whole purpose of eSIMs.
    I should be able to just log into the app and be able to activate it.

    They could have other security measures like account pins or asking the SIM number of the previous SIM.
     
  14. Lobwedgephil macrumors 601

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #14
    I chatted with At&t just for fun and they said that you have to have it done in store due to extra security, no card to send. I don't think they really know yet as it is so new.
     
  15. Lobwedgephil macrumors 601

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #15
    This explains it pretty well. At&t reps are pretty clueless as of now on esim it appears.

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT209044
     
  16. jeffm5690 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    #16
    Sucks.. I would love to activate esim for my att and then slip my sim from my Verizon work phone in there so I don’t need two phones....
     
  17. Lobwedgephil macrumors 601

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #17
    Why can't you do that?
     
  18. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #18
    Only reason would be a locked phone if it’s not paid in full or from the Apple Upgrade plan. Unless his work does not allow it, mine won’t. They only want work data on a work phone. Calls are a small part of the work phone use for me.
     
  19. HeadphoneAddict macrumors 6502a

    HeadphoneAddict

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    #19
    THAT'S STUPID - snail mail, really AT&T? In this day and age, shouldn't the eSIM be sent electronically? How is this better than just US Post mail a physical SIM then, and we could have the dual-sim tray like China?
     
  20. ILowry82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2014
    #20
    I tried to activate esim in T-Mobile. It showed in their system that it was working but I got no service on my end. I’m on 12.1 beta 4
     
  21. E3BK macrumors 68030

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    They probably won't activate it until 12.1 GM goes public (not public beta). But if you have the link to share, I'd like take a look at the site. Probably means will be happening soon.
     
  22. prithvi64 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2017
    #22
    I am using XS and beta 12.1 B4 but there is no option "Cellular" in setting. I wonder whether this option will appear only when eSim is activated.
     
  23. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #23
    You should check again. Cellular has been an option for a while. eSim in Cellular is what is new. (Add a plan)
     
  24. yukio macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #24
    Let me get this straight.

    You buy a SIM-free unlocked phone from Apple directly.
    You put an existing Verizon SIM into the physical slot.
    You activate the eSIM with a number from ATT.

    ATT locks the device to themselves?
     
  25. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #25
    Where did you read that AT&T will lock the eSIM to them, thus preventing the user from feeely switching to another carrier?
     

Share This Page