Carrier eSIM (Dual Sim) Demonstration iPhone Xs Max (Vodafone_de)

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by sign_dev, Sep 30, 2018.

?

Will you use the dual sim function?

Poll closed Oct 14, 2018.
  1. Yes, of course.

    82.6%
  2. No, hell no.

    17.4%
  1. sign_dev macrumors newbie

    sign_dev

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    Hi, everybody,
    in the current beta of iOS 12.1 it is possible to add an eSIM contract. This currently works in Germany with Telekom and Vodafone (but you have to add this manually with Vodafone and not through the scan).

    I have been using Vodafone's eSIM in my Xs Max for 2 days now and everything is working fine - there is no physical SIM at the moment - just put my physical Vodafone SIM in for testing purposes.

    Here are some pictures that you are welcome to use, no problem. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask me :)

    IMG_0115.jpg IMG_0114.jpg IMG_0112.png IMG_0118.png
     
  2. Mayanja macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
  3. LutzRFrank macrumors regular

    LutzRFrank

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Germany/Switzerland/France
    #3
    how did you get the details for the manual entry?
    Scanning doesnt work as you mention ...
     
  4. LutzRFrank, Oct 2, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 2, 2018

    LutzRFrank macrumors regular

    LutzRFrank

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Germany/Switzerland/France
    #4
    Cool... works perfect... Trick is not using the iPhone internal QR scanner but a third party one... then split the two parts, a URL (between the $ signs) and the activation code (after the second $) and use the confirmation code you received from Vodafone (visible in the MeinVodafone iPhone App - strangely not on the web portal (here it is blocked and marked as continue download) ...
     
  5. StuMcBill macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #5
    Out of curiosity, can you enable WiFi calling for both sims?
     
  6. sign_dev thread starter macrumors newbie

    sign_dev

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    To be honest, I haven't tried it yet. But I will try it tomorrow, when my new contract arrives.
     
  7. LutzRFrank macrumors regular

    LutzRFrank

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Germany/Switzerland/France
    #7
    Yes, it shows both WiFi enabled
     
  8. StuMcBill macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
  9. Romelo23 macrumors newbie

    Romelo23

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2014
    #9
    Can you choose which SIM the phone pulls data from or is it only the primary?
     
  10. john991 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario
    #10
    Can you turn off the eSim? (Similar to airplane mode) and have the physical sim enabled?

    Thanks
     
  11. Capeto macrumors regular

    Capeto

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    #11
    Sorry to bug, but is the following possible?

    1. Placing a call on SIM A on hold to answer a call on SIM B
    2. Choosing which SIM's data plan to use while vo ice is enabled on both
    3. Automatically switching between carriers based on service (i.e., if SIM A goes into roaming, SIM B becomes primary service)
     
  12. StuMcBill macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #12
    I’m not sure about them all, but in answer to 1&2 (after reading Apple’s support page about it)

    1. No, sim B will automatically go to voicemail
    2. Yes, this is possible.
     
  13. sign_dev thread starter macrumors newbie

    sign_dev

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #13
    This poses no problem. For example, you can disable the eSIM, but the physical SIM continues to run and only one SIM is displayed.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 6, 2018 ---
    Yeah, that's possible. You can choose which contract is used for the internet.
     
  14. Capeto macrumors regular

    Capeto

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    #14
    Thank you!
     
  15. VicAnTop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #15
    Actually did everything, but can’t get confirmation code. Where in MeinVodafone iPhone App it could be and when?
     
  16. john991 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario
    #16
    Where do you get the URL code from? Vodafone SIM card or somewhere else?
     
  17. VicAnTop macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #17
    As wrote before: you can scan QR code by separate scanner. First data between $ will be URL code.
    My problem – I cant find or get confirmation code...
     
  18. LutzRFrank macrumors regular

    LutzRFrank

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Germany/Switzerland/France
    #18
    [QUOTE="My problem – I cant find or get confirmation code...[/QUOTE]

    Should be in your SIM part on your myVodafone App (preferred as the Web App should "downloading" after trying once) under the Matrix, it's I think called ePIN too
     
  19. ManuCH macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #19
    Stupid question: what are the "P" and "G" letters in squares shown besides the signal bars?
     
  20. LutzRFrank macrumors regular

    LutzRFrank

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    Germany/Switzerland/France
    #20
    the first letters of the name you gave to the SIM slots ... in my case "e" for "eSIM" and "S" for "SIM Card" ... default are "P", "Primary" and "S", "Secondary"
     
  21. dbrose macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #21
    Has anyone tried the Swap My Sim option on Vodafone UK?

    There is the option to swap to eSIM that arrived a couple of weeks ago.
     
  22. dbrose, Oct 15, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2018

    dbrose macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    #22
    Ok so this bricked my SIM. The esim option apparently is related to Apple Watch. My number transferred away from my Sim and marked the sim with Vodafone as damaged and they couldn’t reregister it. Now waiting for a new sim.

    What annoys me is that they couldn’t just reregister it to the physical SIM card. The SIM card is not technically damaged.
     
  23. nburwell macrumors 601

    nburwell

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    DE
    #23
    Appreciate the demo! I'm definitely pumped that when I travel overseas, I won't have to bring my SE with me. I can have my T-Mobile SIM (carrier) and Orange SIM (pre-paid) in my Xs.
     
  24. ManuCH macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #24
    I can confirm that eSIM works flawlessly with Swisscom in Switzerland as well. I went to the online customer care portal, ordered a "replacement SIM" (just as if I had lost it), then I was given the option to choose between a physical SIM and an eSIM. I chose the latter, got the QR Code, scanned it on the iPhone and it worked right away.

    I just got the warning message that the eSIM isn't certified yet so it's technically unsupported, but so far so good.
     
  25. NeshyD macrumors regular

    NeshyD

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #25
    Thanks for sharing! Really looking forward to using both my personal T-Mobile & AT&T work SIMs on my XS Max soon :)
     

Share This Page

43 September 30, 2018