"Essential Upgrade" in Cydia

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by KentuckyHouse, Sep 26, 2010.

  1. KentuckyHouse macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #1
    Ok, well let's see if anyone can help me out.

    I opened Cydia a few minutes ago and was prompted that I had a "Essential Upgrade" that I needed to complete, or else I may start experiencing problems. It's had 3 buttons..."Upgrade Essential", "Complete Upgrade" (which seems kinda redundant), and "Ignore" (or something to that effect).

    I pressed the "Complete Upgrade" button, it did it's normal thing, did a respring, and then BAM...crashed my Springboard. So, I tapped reset...it did it again. It keeps doing it over and over.

    The upgrades were 3 things...Activator, a repo, and the Silent Charge tweak. I'm thinking it has to be the Activator upgrade. What do you think?

    A question...I rarely, if ever use Activator...can I simply remove it? Will it effect anything if I do (besides the obvious actions it controls)?
     
  2. FamiliaPhoto macrumors 6502a

    FamiliaPhoto

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    Activator upgraded for me today and I have experienced no issues.
     
  3. troyhouse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #3
    I would be very careful in upgrading stuff blindly... i just want dont want to get in scenario where i have to restore for stuff which i really did not need...
     
  4. KentuckyHouse thread starter macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #4
    Ok, so maybe it wasn't Activator. Hmm...

    And I don't normally upgrade stuff blindly for this very reason, but this was Cydia prompting me to do an essential upgrade...so I figured it wouldn't do any harm.

    I'm going through things right now to see if I can find what did it, but no joy yet.
     
  5. Cinemagic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #5
    I upgraded today as well. But no problems. Can you connect to your iPhone via Cyberduck or SSH? You can also try to see if safe mode works.

    Here are some options:
    Download i-funbox, connect the phone go to /Library/MobileSubstrate/DynamicLibraries and delete the rotate files

    Or use sbssettings...click on power....choose start in safe mode.

    See if that gets you working again.

    Otherwise the restore option works.
     
  6. KentuckyHouse thread starter macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #6
    Yeah, I can SSH into my phone, no problem.

    The phone is in Safe Mode as we speak. I tried swiping the status bar, but as it's in Safe Mode, SBSettings wouldn't come up and I get the "SpringBoard has just crashed" message. When I restart, it just crashes again. I can get into Cydia (or anything else for that matter), but I just can't get the SpringBoard to stop crashing.

    I just thought about something...if I can't get into SBSettings then I can't enable SSH. Would using i-funbox help with this or not?
     
  7. KentuckyHouse thread starter macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #7
    Oh, and I'm on a PC using WinSCP, if that helps.
     
  8. KentuckyHouse thread starter macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #8
    FALSE ALARM...apparently.

    WTF? I did a HARD REBOOT instead of a respring and everything is working perfectly again. Oh well.

    Sorry to have been a bother, guys. Thanks for the help, though!
     
  9. Cinemagic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
  10. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    It's not redundant at all. The "Upgrade Essential" button upgrades only those packages that Cydia has identified as essential, while the "Complete Upgrade" button upgrades all packages for which there are available updates.

    But you did not install only the essential upgrades; you installed all available updates. That is a very different thing. I always choose "Ignore" and examine each package to decide whether I should upgrade it.
     
  11. KentuckyHouse thread starter macrumors 68020

    KentuckyHouse

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Lexington, KY.
    #11
    Thanks for the explanation, thelatinist. It's a lesson well-learned for the next time! :D
     
  12. Shadysmurff, Dec 11, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2010

    Shadysmurff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #12
    Yeah, it happened to me too once, but did a Hard Reboot via pressing the Off button and the Home button for 26 secs repeats and nothing happened for 2 hours, but the different thing i did was plugging in the USB cable then plugging the other end to the iPhone then do the Reboot/Home button On/Off proccess again and it worked perfectly, this is what a youtube video told me.. you need to plug ur iProduct to the PC in order for the reboot to work, or you cant boot it after its stuck up. on complete essential upgrades, but some ppl recommend just to choose the essential upgrades.

    And thanks to you, ive been searching the whole entire google for whats the difference between [Complete Essential Upgrade] from [Essential Upgrades], they should change the word coz its confusing a bit what kentucky means, it should be [Complete Upgrades] and [Essential Upgrades] coz a [Complete Essential Upgrades] would mean it will Update the Complete list of [Essential Upgrades], which you said its not the same and it will [Upgrade All even not Essentials].

    So yeah, thanks for clarifying others and for the info.
     
  13. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #13
    very well explained you sir have a gift! :D TS glad you solved the issue and this thread could be useful for somebody else. so it's not a waste at all. Also the fact you didn't say Damn I bricked my phone. :p
     
  14. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #14
    I have three Cydia updates outstanding. But ever since the previous mobile substrate hosed my phone and forced a restore I am very reluctant to take any upgrades from Cydia. i use very few Cydia apps.

    The upgrades outstanding are Mobile substrate, UKIT Tools and Ultrasnow.

    I assume Ultrasnow is the new 1.2 and i am already running 1.1 successfully. The other two I am prepared to wait until the official pwnage tool is released and will then take the new Cydia which I assume will include all the updates.

    I guess "once bitten twice shy" as far as Cydia is concerned.
     

Share This Page