Ethernet cable sometimes works?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by backward, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. backward macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #1
    I'm connecting my late 2006 Macbook Pro and 2011 Mini directly with a cat6 ethernet cable but it doesn't work. I found this weird workaround though:

    - plug in a cat5 cable first: ethernet connects
    - unplug cat5 and use the cat6 cable: ethernet connects

    I prefer the cat6 cable because it is shorter. I just don't get why I need to "prime" it with the cat5 first. Any ideas why this is happening or how to get the cat6 working on its own?

    The cat6 seems to be running at full speed. ifconfig says:

    en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    options=2b<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_HWTAGGING,TSO4>
    ether 3c:07:54:0b:b1:44
    inet6 fe80::3e07:54ff:fe0b:b144%en0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x6
    inet 169.254.1.141 netmask 0xffff0000 broadcast 169.254.255.255
    media: autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control>)
    status: active
     
  2. hamshi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #2
    correct me if im wrong but wouldnt you need a crossover/patch cable to connect them???
     
  3. backward thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #3
  4. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #4
    It's not necessary with today's computers. They pretty much all have an auto detect feature especially Macs.
     
  5. hamshi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #5
    i stand corrected :) :)
     
  6. Darien Red Sox macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    CT, USA
    #6
    bad cable, once I spent hours trying to plug a G4 quick silver into the jack in the wall with no luck, finally used internet sharing on my MBP and ran the cable between the two of them. Double checked the wall jack and everything was punched down correctly, took a closer look at the cable and saw that when I had made it two wires were in the wrong location.
     
  7. backward thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #7
    Yeah, it's unfortunate but the cable was faulty from the beginning so I'll probably will have to get a replacement. Thanks guys.
     

Share This Page