ethernet card on macbook air

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Yvonne11y, Mar 31, 2018.

  1. Yvonne11y macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2018
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a macbook air 2017 and I would like to know where I can find the speed of my ethernet card since my computer is slow. With cable it measures 88 Mbps down and 93 Mbps up while I pay for 300 Mbps... Who can help me?

    Thanks in advance.

    Yvonne
     
  2. saulinpa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #2
    Just hold the alt/option key and click on the wireless icon on the upper right. The info will show there.
     
  3. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #3
    Is the problem the laptop or ISP? Anybody else in the house getting close to 300?

    Ethernet card suggests you are connecting with a CAT CABLE, not wireless, because wireless will bottle-neck you regardless of your ISP speed.
     
  4. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    White Mntns, Arizona
    #4
    Make sure you are using Cat5e or Cat6 cable to get speeds higher than 100 Mbps. Wireless will not necessarily bottleneck you if you have higher speed 802.11n or 802.11ac WiFi.
     
  5. Audit13 macrumors 68040

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #5
    I have an early 2015 13" Air and I can hit 400 mbps with my cable provider.
     
  6. Boyd01 macrumors 601

    Boyd01

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey Pine Barrens
    #6
    I have a 2013 11" MBA and use a 2TB Airport Timecapsule. This is what I get accessing a disk on my Mac Mini Server from the MBA with 802.11ac wifi.

    [​IMG]

    I have FIOS 150/150 internet and have seen very close to that mark when uploading files to Vimeo or other fast sites from the MBA. Aside from the MBA and my iPhone, everything else in my house is hardwired on gigabit ethernet.

    I also have a USB 3.0 gigabit ethernet adapter that and this is what I get from the same server on my LAN with a hardwired connection to the MBA.

    [​IMG]

    But I have not used the ethernet adapter for quite awhile because the wifi is fast enough for me.
     

Share This Page