Ethernet help

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Progame13, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. Progame13 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #1
    I have a macbook, 13 inch, last generation. I must use an ethernet cable to connect to the internet in my dorm room, and I find that it won't "hook" into the ethernet slot.

    It fits into the slot just fine and I can connect to the internet, but the cable doesn't "hook" in and can easily slide out. I've tried numerous generic ethernet cables to no avail. Is there any Mac brand ethernet cable I can use or is it just some random defect on my laptop?
     
  2. DocStone macrumors regular

    DocStone

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    #2
    It might be a defect on the laptop. My first reaction was that the clip was bad on the cable itself, but since you replaced the cable with a new one, it leads me to believe there might be a problem with it on the computer side. Take a close look at how it hooks on your notebook and see if that piece is jacked up or not.

    Peace & love
     
  3. Progame13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for the advice. I checked out the port and it looks too short. Thats really the only thing I can think of. Everything else looks about the same as my friends, but maybe just a little shorter. Any tips on a fix? Or am I stuck with it this way?
     
  4. Skeletal-dæmon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    #4
    I have the last (4th) generation BlackBook and haven't had a problem with the ethernet port but I know somebody with a 3rd generation WhiteBook that simply will not hold an ethernet cable in it at all. I think it may be a flaw on a limited number of machines, sorry dude.
     
  5. Metatron macrumors 6502

    Metatron

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    #5
    Take it to an apple store...let them see the defect...they will have to repair or replace it.
     
  6. Progame13 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    #6
    Alright. Thanks for the responses guys. I'll probably take it to an apple store to see if they can do anything.
     

Share This Page