Ethernet Hub attached to Airport Express

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by cmcconkey, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. cmcconkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    Rocky Face, GA
    #1
    I am looking to get an Airport Express to use to connect my 360 to my network and to test out moving my PS3 from wireless to a "wired" set up through the Express also. But in order to do this I will need to get a 5 port hub to plug these into and the hub into the Express. Has anyone tried this, does it work? Thanks in advance for any help.

    Christopher
     
  2. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #2
    I don't think an Ethernet switch will work with an Airport Express.

    You really should get an Airport Extreme...
     
  3. oculus42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #3
    Network Setup

    How is the network set up now? I think what you are asking can be done, but I can't be sure without that detail.

    An AirPort Express only has one Ethernet port. This can be a WAN port or a LAN port, but cannot be both at the same time. If you have a wired Cable/DSL router that you intend to continue using, you are fine. If you are sharing your Internet connection from your PC, it might work with the Express.

    Let us know what you have and how you intend to connect it.
     
  4. cmcconkey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    Rocky Face, GA
    #4

    I have a current gen AEBS in my computer room and all ports are full on it. I want to use the Express to go from a wireless to a wired through the hub and to the PS3 and 360.

    For those that are wondering why I would want to make my PS3 wired is because I want to bypass an annoyance on my PS3 (it takes 20 minutes to download a 12mb file on a 6mb connection).
     
  5. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #5
    As your Express uses the same wireless connection as your PS3, your transfer speed won't change.

    Download speeds are limited by the server transmitting the file more than your own connection. Unless you can prove that it downloads faster in an all-wired environment, a wired connection won't speed up the process.
     
  6. oculus42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #6
    It can work

    You can use an AirPort Express as a wireless bridge in that manner. I have never done it, so I couldn't walk you through the process.

    That said, I would recommend you get a switch and run a cable from the AirPort Extreme Base Station you already have rather than using the Express as a wireless bridge. You get full gigabit speed that way and don't reduce the available capacity of your wireless network, and you save $100 on the Express. If it's a bad location to run a wire or you want the extra perks of the Express (USB port, AirTunes) then go for it.

    NetGear offers a nice 5-port gigabit switch for about $35.
     
  7. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #7
    I did that for my roommate. His desktop PC and his TiVo were on a far wall, not near the network jack, and he didn't want to run a cable across his bedroom.

    I set the Express up as a bridge and plugged a switch into it. Been working fine for so long I don't remember if I had to do anything special to get it going (which I don't think I did).
     
  8. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #8
    According to this the Airport Express can only handle 10 clients, but it doesn't specify if these are wired or wireless.
     
  9. oculus42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #9
    If the PS3 only supports 802.11g and the AEBS is offering 802.11n, you could see faster network speeds for the bridged devices if you can get the Express to connect at 802.11n speeds. But, as geoffreak says, you probably won't see faster downloads as that depends on many factors.
     
  10. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #10
    Just because the connection itself is faster doesn't mean the internet connection is faster. G is almost 10 times faster and N is almost 25 times faster than the OP's internet connection.
    The only difference will be seen transferring files on the local network.
     
  11. oculus42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Location:
    Maine
    #11
    Depends

    I believe that's a built-in limit of it's DHCP server, not a device capability. Acting as a wireless bridge, I'm not sure if it assigns addresses or just offers pass-through. It might be in the manual on Apple's Support site, though.
     
  12. cmcconkey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    Rocky Face, GA
    #12
    This is true but every other device on my network downloads at a much faster rate than my PS3 does. I am going to test my theory before I go and purchase a 5 port Ethernet hub, but I do believe that there is some sort if issue with the wireless on my PS3.
     
  13. cmcconkey thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Location:
    Rocky Face, GA
    #13
    Well the Express is on the way. I will be plugging it into my home theater and my 360 anyway so it won't be a total waste if it doesn't help my poor download speeds on the PS3.
     

Share This Page