Ethernet Problem

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Pantomimehorse, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. Pantomimehorse macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I have a 2006 Mac Pro that has been working great ever since I bought it used nearly a year ago, but recently I have started to get a strange problem with the ethernet.

    I seems randomly the ethernet will either work or wont when I boot up or come out of sleep mode, when I go into settings it says nothing is plugged in and its becoming really frustrating.

    I did a format and reinstall of Lion but Im still getting the issue.

    The onyl way I have found that seems to solve it ( or may just be coincidence ) is when I unplug the mac for an hour or so then plug it back in and boot up generally it will work ok.

    Anyone have any ideas what is causing this?
     
  2. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #2
    I know it's obvious, but you have tried swapping out for a new cable? I've seen them get flaky.
     
  3. El Awesome macrumors 6502

    El Awesome

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Location:
    Zurich
    #3
    Try another cable, reset the SMC, clean the Ethrnet plug and input...
    And if all that fails you pretty much screwed.
     
  4. yoink macrumors member

    yoink

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #4
    We had an issue recently where one of our Mac Pros at the office (with an aggregated link - IE bonded GbE ports) wasn't working at all. Turns out the switch just needed a reboot; this is a 24-port managed 3com switch that had a two year uptime until that point. So you might also want to check equipment down the line.

    But I have to agree that cable flakiness should be first suspect.
     
  5. initialsBB macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #5
    After checking the cable I would also have a look at the ethernet router/switch.
     
  6. BenClement1978 macrumors member

    BenClement1978

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Location:
    Antwerp Belgium
  7. Pantomimehorse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #7
    thanks for your replies,

    I dont think its the router as I have two other computers plugged into it and they work fine, one a pc the other a Mac Mini , I guess it could be the cable but I don't think it is, when it wasn't working at first I brought my Mac Book and plugged it in and it worked fine straight away.

    I think Im going to swap the Mini for the pro and see if I have anymore issues over a week, then I can rule out whether or not its the cable.

    ----------

    oh and the reason I cant just swap out the cable is the cable is a 100m cable that has been tacked right round the house to my office in the garden so Id rather not have to do that again !!
     
  8. coodem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #8
    100m that is a fair way. Even more reason to start with a shorter cable first.your router/mac Ethernet port might not be giving enough power to sustain this distance
     
  9. Pantomimehorse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #9
    interesting, would lack of power potentially be an intermittent thing? as like I said sometimes it works sometimes it doesnt
     
  10. BenClement1978 macrumors member

    BenClement1978

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Location:
    Antwerp Belgium
    #10
    have you been having the problems just after the "summer" began? or after winter...
     
  11. Pantomimehorse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #11
    well its been over the last few months so yes when its been a bit warmer
     
  12. BenClement1978 macrumors member

    BenClement1978

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Location:
    Antwerp Belgium
    #12
    you probably have a damaged cable.
     
  13. Pantomimehorse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #13
    a small update, since Friday I have switched out the Mac Pro for my Mac Mini and the problem hasnt come back which leads me to believe its a problem with the Mac Pro, what the problem is however Ive no idea!

    I was thinking of trying one of those Ethernet to USB converters to see if its an issue with Ethernet port, does anyone know if they will work on a mac?
     
  14. BenClement1978 macrumors member

    BenClement1978

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Location:
    Antwerp Belgium
    #14
    Buy one from apple. I have the USB and the thunderbolt version. The USB works on my 2009 Mac pro 100% certain.
     
  15. Pantomimehorse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    London
  16. coodem macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #16
    Might be the mac mini has a few more watts of power than the MBP. Hence it's able to cope with your cable degradation. Does the MBP work when plugged into another shorter cable?
     
  17. Pantomimehorse thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Location:
    London
    #17
    ah good point I will check that out before I buy the adaptor, I havent had a chance to set the Pro up in the other room yet but will do it this weekend and see what happens
     
  18. BenClement1978 macrumors member

    BenClement1978

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Location:
    Antwerp Belgium
    #18
    I can not imagine that the Mac pro would deliver less power. And it is on both ports.
     
  19. Alameda macrumors 6502a

    Alameda

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #19
    Apple makes one, $20. But does your computer have a second Ethernet port you can try?
     

Share This Page